Author Archive
Stories written by Bruce_Martin

Pagenaud Beats Rookies, Wins Houston GP

Simon Pagenaud won Sunday's Verizon IndyCar Series event at NRG Park in Houston, Texas. (Al Steinberg Photo)

Simon Pagenaud saved his best for last on Sunday.

Castroneves Speeds To Houston Pole

Helio Castroneves won his 40th career IndyCar pole on Sunday in Houston. (Al Steinberg photo)

Helio Castroneves has made quite a bounce back from the bad luck he encountered at Houston last season with gearbox failures in both races of the doubleheader.

Huertas Shocks, Scores First IndyCar Win

Carlos Huertas won a chaotic Verizon IndyCar Series race Saturday afternoon in Houston, Texas. (Al Steinberg Photo)

Carlos Huertas, a 23-year-old rookie from Colombia, won a bizarre Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston Presented by the Greater Houston Honda Dealers on Saturday for the Verizon IndyCar Series.

Rough Houston Streets Still A Handful

Charlie Kimball on track during Friday's Verizon IndyCar Series practice on the Houston street circuit. (Al Steinberg Photo)

After spending nearly $1 million to make the 10-turn, 1.683-mile temporary street course at Houston’s NGR Park smoother the Verizon IndyCar Series drivers still believe it’s a handful.

Carpenter Gains Redemption In Texas

Ed Carpenter poses in victory lane with his family and crew after winning Saturday's Verizon IndyCar Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. (Al Steinberg Photo)

When it comes to racing on the big ovals Ed Carpenter has established himself as the best in the Verizon IndyCar Series.

Will Power Tops Texas Speed Charts

Will Power has two Verizon IndyCar Series victories this year and currently leads the series championship standings. (IndyCar Photo)

Will Power earned his second consecutive Verizon P1 Award for Saturday’s Verizon IndyCar Series Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway with a two-lap average speed of 218.896 mph on the 1.455-mile, high-banked oval.

It’s Castroneves’ Day In Belle Isle

Helio Castroneves, middle, celebrates in victory lane with Will Power (left) and Charlie Kimball after Sunday's Verizon IndyCar Series race. (Al Steinberg photo)

Roger Penske sets his standards high, and that has made him the winningest team owner in IndyCar history and one of the most successful industrialists in America.

Sato Wins Belle Isle Pole, Hunter-Reay In Back

Takuma Sato will race in the opening round of the FIA Formula E World Championship this weekend. (Al Steinberg photo)

More trouble struck 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay when he crashed for the second day in a row, this time in Sunday morning’s qualification session for the second doubleheader race at Belle Isle – the Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit.

Power Holds Off Rahal On Belle Isle

Will Power held off Graham Rahal in the final laps to win the first race during the Indy Dual in Detroit Saturday at Belle Isle Park. (Al Steinberg Photo)

It has been six years since Graham Rahal’s first career IndyCar win at the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in 2008

Belle Isle Pole Belongs To Castroneves

Helio Castroneves has earned the pole for Saturday's first Verizon IndyCar Series race at Belle Isle Park in Detroit, Mich. (Al Steinberg Photo)

The streets of Belle Isle have always been special to Team Penske driver Helio Castroneves. He scored his first victory here in 2000, backed it up with a win from the pole in 2001 and scored another pole in 2007.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!