Author Archive
Stories written by Mike Kerchner

Last-Lap Move Lifts Sammut At Oswego

Mark Sammut won Saturday's ISMA supermodified race at Oswego (N.Y.) Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

OSWEGO, N.Y. — Mark Sammut led only one lap Saturday night at Oswego Speedway, but it was the one that mattered. Sammut took the lead from Mike Lichty on the 50th and final tour of the five-eighths-mile oval to win the Irish Jack Murphy Memorial ISMA winged supermodified feature at The Steel Palace. Lichty finished […]

Schatz Holds Off Gravel For Win No. 11

Donny Schatz (15) battles Kraig Kinser for the lead Friday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Chris Seelman photo)

Despite being bogged down in lapped traffic for the final five laps of Friday night’s NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Donny Schatz drove to his 11th World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series victory of the season

KERCHNER: The Heat Race

Mike Kerchner

As the Memorial Day racing weekend fastly approaches, we felt it was time to share our thoughts an opinions on some of the recent events in the racing world.

Last-Lap Pass Ends Clanton’s Drought

Shane Clanton

SYLVANIA, Ga. — Shane Clanton doesn’t have to worry about going winless on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series this season. The 39-year-old Zebulon, Ga., driver, who last season failed to win a WoO LMS event for the first time since the national tour was restarted in 2004, made his long-awaited return to victory […]

Stewart Ends Sprint Car Battle For Ohio

Tony Stewart has purchased both the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions and the Renegade Sprints, unifying both sprint car sanctioning bodies into one unified sprint car tour. (Mike Campbell Photo)

The battle for the state of Ohio is over. Eldora Speedway owner and three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart put an end to the dispute between the All Star Circuit of Champions and the Renegade Sprints, which threatened to fragment winged sprint car racing in the region, by purchasing both organizations.

NCMA Honors NASCAR’s Mike Helton

Mike Helton

More than 400 North Carolina motorsports industry members and enthusiasts gathered Wednesday night at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Resort to honor NASCAR President Mike Helton.

Ralph Sheheen Named Top Media Member

Sheheen, Ralph

SPEED SPORT Magazine Publisher Ralph Sheheen has been named the Media Member of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll.

KERCHNER: The Heat Race

Mike Kerchner

Warm weather, military fighter planes, scenic views, great racing and lettuce. Cocopah Speedway has it all.

Lasoski Steals Blaney’s Cocopah Thunder

Danny Lasoski stands in victory lane after winning Friday's Winter Heat Sprint Car Showdown feature at Cocopah Speedway in Sumerton, Ariz. (Tim Aylwin Photo)

Dale Blaney made one mistake during round four of the Winter Heat Showdown sprint car series Friday night at Cocopah Speedway and it cost him dearly

Chili Bowl 2006: McCreadie Rides Low Line

Tim McCreadie (1a) uses the inside curb to his advantage while battling with Jay Drake (71k) and Cory Kruseman during the 2006 Chili Bowl Midget Nationals feature. (David E. Heithaus Photo)

Tim McCreadie used the low groove around the Tulsa Expo Raceway to shock a sold-out crowd and more than 270 other competitors in Saturday night’s 20th annual Chili Bowl Nationals.

In celebration of the Silver Anniversary of this prestigious indoor midget race, will be publishing the race reports that appeared in the pages of National Speed Sport News for the first 24 runnings of the event.

Beginning with the inaugural event in 1987, race recaps will be posted on a daily basis from Dec. 18 through Jan. 10.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!