Author Archive
Stories written by Mike_OLeary

Darland Wins, Jones Is Champion

Darland Wins, Jones Is Champion

The 25th Indiana Sprint Week finale at Lincoln Park Speedway Sunday was a race for the record book

Stanbrough Closes In At Tri-State

Eventual winner Jon Stanbrough races to the outside of Bryan Clauson (7) Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind. (Ginny Heithaus photo)

The battle for the 25th Indiana Sprint Week championship tightened dramatically Saturday when Jon Stanbrough scored a thrilling victory in the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car series event at Tri-State Speedway

Thomas Takes Sprint Week Turn

Kevin Thomas Jr. races around Dave Darland (11) en route to winning Friday night's Indina Sprint Week feature at Bloomington Speedway. (Ginny Heithaus photo)

It’s a long, winding road from Cullman, Ala., to the dirt tracks of Indiana, but after five years, Kevin Thomas Jr. made all of the miles he traveled worthwhile with Friday’s AMSOIL USAC national sprint car series victory at Bloomington Speedway

Clayton Romps To Terre Haute Score

Daron Clayton (92) powers under Coleman Gulick en route to winning Wednesday's Indiana Sprint Week race at the Terre Haute Action Track. (David E. Heithaus photo)

With a thrilling flag-to-flag victory romp, Daron Clayton made a statement that was loud and clear as the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car series made its fourth stop of the 25th Indiana Sprint Week at the Terre Haute Action Track Wednesday

Clauson Opens Sprint Week On Top

Bryan Clauson won Friday night's Indiana Sprint Week opener at Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway. (David E. Heithaus photo)

Bryan Clauson opened the 25th edition of Indiana Sprint Week with a 30-lap AMSOIL USAC national sprint car series victory at the Gas City I-69 Speedway Friday

East Dominates Larry Rice Classic

Bobby East (2b) races under Brady Bacon en route to winning the Larry Rice Classic Friday night at Bloomington (Ind.) Speedway. (David E. Heithaus photo)

It had been a tough start to the AMSOIL National Sprint Car season for Bobby East

Rookie Clauson Impressing Early At Indy

Bryan Clauson, making his first start in the Indianapolis 500 this year, has been surprisingly fast for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing so far. (Photo Courtesy IZOD IndyCar Series)

When the fifth day of practice for this year’s Indianapolis 500 dawned, rookie Bryan Clauson ranked tenth in the overall speed standings with a best lap of 221.173 mph, less than a half second off the fastest time, turned by Marco Andretti.

O’LEARY: Hoosier Pit Pass


From the moment that the sun began to emerge over the Eastern edge of the city on the first day of 2011, the focus of hundreds of Hoosiers was the celebration of the 100 years of the Indianapolis 500. There were parades, ceremonies, lunches and banquets, speeches, fireworks, and of course one of the most memorable races in history.

Cup Battle Comes To Martinsville

Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson lead the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series troops back to Martinsville (Va.) Speedway this weekend. (NASCAR photo)

If last season’s Victory Lane celebrations at Martinsville Speedway seemed a bit odd, consider that 2011 was the first time since 2002 that one of the track’s current Big Three — Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon and Denny Hamlin — failed to win at least one race

O’LEARY: Hoosier Pit Pass


Like it or not, USAC’s Silver Crown division is again balancing precariously. With the opening race looming, there are many questions to be answered as controversial changes have been levied on the competitors

Stay Connected!

Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!