Category archives for: Featured

Two Wilkersons On Track At zMAX

Tim Wilkerson will be joined by his son Daniel Wilkerson in the NHRA Funny Car class this weekend during the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway. (NHRA Photo)

It’s been nearly three years since 28-year-old Daniel Wilkerson climbed behind the wheel of an NHRA Funny Car during a NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event.

SPEED SPORT Photo Of The Week

Jimmy Mars kicks up some dirt during hot laps for the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series event at Davenport Speedway in Iowa. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

It’s time once again to recognize one of our great photography contributors by selecting the SPEED SPORT Photo of the Week.

SPEED SPORT Power Rankings

SPEED SPORT Power Rankings Logo

A packed weekend of racing means dozens of different race winners from all over the United States. How many of them made enough of an impact to appear on the SPEED SPORT Power Rankings?

MAGAZINE: Wings Over Pavement

Asphalt winged sprint car racing continues to grow in popularity around the United States. (Chris Seelman Photo)

Sprint car racing is one of the most popular forms of grassroots motorsports in the United States. A subset of that style of racing is winged sprint car racing on pavement.

Torn From The Headlines: April 23, 1975

April 23 1975.TIF

Constantly looking for ways to better dirt-track racing for fans and competitors alike, Lindy Vicari, promoter and president of the Reading Fairgrounds, is currently experimenting with another revolutionary move in track maintenance.

SPEED SPORT Top Performers

SPEED SPORT Top Performers

After taking several months off, SPEED SPORT Top Performers is back again to find out which competitors had the best performances each weekend. So which drivers performed well enough to make the first SPEED SPORT Top Performers list of 2016?

Q&A: Dempsey Embraces Role As Team Owner

Patrick Dempsey is stepping away from the drivers seat to focus on his role as team owner this year. (Porsche Photo)

Last weekend Patrick Dempsey began his new role not as a driver, but as a team owner during the World Endurance Championship season opener at the Silverstone Circuit in England.

MAGAZINE: NASCAR’s Changing Of The Guard

Scott Miller

NASCAR sent a message to its teams and drivers when the sanctioning body hired Scott Miller to replace Robin Pemberton as senior vice president of competition in early December.

MAGAZINE: Quiring Is Building An Empire

David Gravel (5) and Sammy Swindell (1) both drive for CJB Motorsports, but receive sponsorship from Tod Quiring's Big Game Treestands company. (Hein Brothers Photo)

As race teams, tracks and events struggle to find sponsorship in a challenging economy and a cutthroat industry, there is one man who continues to buy into the investment opportunities within motorsports.

MAGAZINE: Racing’s Trip To Washington

Ralph Sheheen (center) helped represent the motorsports industry recently in Washington D.C. when he spoke to the Oversight Subcommittee of the House Science Committee.

It’s called “Rolling Coal.” You’ve seen them — big, heavy-duty diesel-powered pickup trucks cruising the streets. Every time the driver hits the throttle they blow huge plumes of thick, black diesel smoke into the air.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!