Category archives for: Racing History

Torn From The Headlines: April 7, 2004

Danny Lasoski led every lap of the IROC event at Texas Motor Speedway in 2004. (Harold Hinson Photo)

Danny Lasoski scored one for the short-track racers of America as he became the second World of Outlaws driver to win in the Crown Royal International Race of Champions.

Torn From The Headlines: April 3, 1991

Pages from April 03 1991

Local promoter Ralph Sanchez is in hopes of putting together an acceptable proposal to build a new permanent race facility — including a road course and an oval — in the South Florida area. The complex would not only be the new home for the Nissan-backed Miami Camel GT race, but would provide year-round testing facilities.

Torn From The Headlines: March 23, 1977

March 23 1977.TIF

USAC national champion Gordon Johncock “drove it flat-out and resisted a temptation to put my foot on the brake” as he made Indianapolis Motor Speedway history Saturday with the first 200-mph lap.

Torn From The Headlines: March 17, 1954

Pages from March 17 1954

Cotton Owens, of Spartanburg, S.C., was listed as the winner of Sunday afternoon’s thrilling modified stock car race at Harris Speedway here, but a final decision on the outcome will have to await a ruling by NASCAR, the sanctioning body.

MAGAZINE: The Legend Of Carroll Shelby

Carroll Shelby created one of the most legendary race cars of the 1960s, the Shelby Cobra. (Ford Motor Co. Photo)

Celebrated in song, books and movies, the Shelby Cobra ingrained itself in American pop culture. Its appeal remains so strong that five decades later original Cobras command millions, on the rare occasion one comes up for auction.

Torn From The Headlines: March 10, 1999

Pages from March 10 1999

Reynard will return to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2000. It just won’t be the way everybody thinks.

Torn From The Headlines: March 3, 1993

Pages from March 03 1993

Indy Car teams won’t have to worry about a Japanese invader — at least in the near future.

Torn From The Headlines: Feb. 25, 1981

Pages from February 25 1981

A one-woman crusade by an Orange, Calif., sports car driver has breathed a little life into Ontario Motor Speedway and raised hopes that the moribund racing facility may still survive.

Torn From The Headlines: Feb. 18, 1970

Pages from February 18 1970

Ford Motor Co., for several years the king pin on NASCAR’s Grand National stock car circuit, will sharply curtail its stock car performance program following Sunday’s rich Daytona 600.

Torn From The Headlines: Feb. 10, 1988

Pages from February 10 1988

You take the high road or no road at all in the Daytona 500. Some of the 42 competitors who make up the field for the 12:15 start Sunday predict very little passing.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!