Dirt Modifieds

Elliott Pockets Big Money At Hancock

BRITT, Iowa – Mark Elliott exorcised a lot of race demons Thursday night.

Elliott led every lap in winning the Night of 1,000 Stars special for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modi­fieds at Hancock County Speedway. His share of the purse at the 20th annual event totaled $7,000, including $3,500 for the victory and $2,500 in lap money, plus another $1,000 for leading at halfway.

The top-paying event of the 2014 XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour drew 84 entries from 10 states and Canada.

“What really helped us win tonight was a long month of July. We did the Dakota Classic Tour, then Speedweeks, and missed five of the shows,” the new 2015 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier said. “We went back to work on the car and everybody, my crew, my family and my sponsors, stayed focused on winning.”

“Maybe the stars aligned,” he added. “We had the right amount of luck and it all worked out for us.”

Also the 2006 and 2009 race winner, Elliott won his heat race despite a back row start and then drew the outside front row spot for the main event.

He drove past Kevin Stoa and Clayton Christensen and was still in front when the race was halted for the mandatory front stretch pit stop halfway through the 50-lapper.

“We were prepared to change everything but the kitchen sink. I’ve got a veteran crew that’s been with me a long time. They added fuel, checked my tires and told me I was good,” Elliott said. “I didn’t even get out of the car. I sat there thinking that we’d had a pretty good first half of the race and wished that it had been the second half.”

Benji LaCrosse pressured Elliott before the break but wound up repeating as the Night of 1,000 Stars runner-up.

Ryan Ruter, defending race winner Kyle Strickler and hard charger Jeremy Mills completed the unofficial top five.

Mills made the main event field as a provisional starter and advanced 26 positions.

Randy Brands was the $700 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature winner. First place was good for $500 for Ben Kates in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Andy Boeckman in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Friday’s Night of 10,000 Stars special at Britt boasts a guaranteed $7,000 and a total possible $10,000 to the IMCA winner.

The finish:

Mark Elliott, Benji LaCrosse, Ryan Ruter, Kyle Strickler, Jeremy Mills, Todd Shute, Mike Jergens, Hunter Marriott, Kevin Stoa, Jimmy Gustin, Clayton Christensen, Sean Jerovetz, Tad Reutzel, Kurt Kile, J.J. Wise, Eric Dailey, Jesse Sobbing, Jeff Ignaszewski, Mike Van Genderen, Levi Nielsen, Tim Ward, Greg El­liott, Rob Rose, Brandon Blochlinger, Brandon Beckendorf, Jeff Dolphin, Troy Swearingen, Andrew Schroeder, Richie Gustin, Dustin Smith, Troy Jerovetz, Mark Noble, Aaron Turnbull, Stacey Mills, Mike Mullen, Scott Hogan, Jay Marks.

Posted by on Aug 8 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!