Dirt Modifieds

Harrison Slides To Haubstadt Modified Score

HAUBSTADT, Ind. — Mike Harrison scored his second win of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway after successfully completing a daring slide-job with only a handful of laps remaining to capture the checkered flag.

With nearly 60 modifieds in attendance, Harrison proved to be the man-to-beat as he became only the second repeat winner on the tour this season, joining Devin Gilpin who accomplished the feat in the first two events of the season.

Harrison, of Labanow, Ill., started third, where he would be stuck for the majority of the race as Larry Anderson and Tyler Nicely battled side-by-side for the lead. Harrison eventually made his way to second after Nicely hopped the inside cushion causing his car to spin out. After the ensuing restart, Harrison would move his line around to do whatever he could to pass the leader Anderson, but still couldn’t move to the front.

Finally, with only a handful of laps remaining, Harrison got a nose on Anderson coming out of turn four and performed a daring slide-job in turn one, just barely clearing the front of Anderson’s machine. Harrison then held off a charge from Levi Kissinger in the final two laps and capture the $1,000 checkered flag.

“I knew I was better than Larry (Anderson) on the top, it was just a matter of getting around him,” said Harrison, who was eighth in the points coming into the night. “I saw him bobble that one time and seen it was my only chance to go, so I had to go.”

Larry Anderson, Kent Robinson and Nick Hoffman rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Larry Anderson, Tyler Nicely, Levi Kissinger, Mike Harrison, Kent Robinson and Stephen Schnapf.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Tuesday night at Florence Speedway located in Union, Ky.

The finish:

Mike Harrison, Levi Kissinger, Larry Anderson, Kent Robinson, Nick Hoffman, Kenny Wallace, Zach Fair, Clayton Miller, Josh Harris, Dave Beck, Brian Shaw, Paul Miles, Rob Timmons, Stephen Schnapf, Jake Griffin, David Mielke, Mark Lamont, Tyler Nicely, Robbie Eilers, Devin Gilpin, Trent Young, Ray Bollinger, Willie Madison.

Posted by on Jul 8 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!