Dirt Modifieds

Hearn Claims 115th Super DIRTcar Victory

Brett Hearn (20) leads the Super DIRTcar Series field during a restart on Friday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Dave Dalesandro Photo)

Brett Hearn (20) leads the Super DIRTcar Series field during a restart on Friday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Dave Dalesandro Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — The winningest driver in Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block history put another trophy on the shelf Friday night at The Drit Track at Charlotte.

Brett Hearn started on the pole and led all 40 laps of the opening feature of the seventh annual World of Outlaws World Finals before a standing-room-only crowd of more than 15,000 at the four-tenths-mile dirt track.

Hearn will take a 161-point lead into the final night of the season on Saturday after his third victory at the Dirt Track and his 115th career triumph in the series. Hearn won the modified feature on Saturday night during the 2012 World Finals.

“The whole team has been motivated all year to come here and race in front of this crowd,” said Hearn. “These are real race fans from all over the country. This just feels really good today.”

Hearn had to hold off repeated challenges of Stewart Friesen during the final five laps of the race as the pair raced through lapped traffic. Friesen got even with Hearn on lap 37, but couldn’t complete the pass.

“I didn’t even know how many laps were left there at the end,” Hearn said. “I just ran this thing as hard as I could from green to checkered.”

Friesen, meanwhile, finished second despite struggling in lapped traffic during the run to the checkered flag.

Friesen was one of two drivers to have a run-in with legendary modified driver Danny Johnson. Friesen had trouble lapping Johnson.

“I learned tonight that if the Doctor is in my way tomorrow, I am going to move him instead of trying to pass him,” Friesen said. “Nobody was getting out of the way tonight.”

Tim McCreadie spun after contact with Johnson on lap 20. Upon restarting his No. 4, McCreadie sought out Johnson and rammed into the back of Johnson’s mount before eventually blocking the track in front of Johnson.

Johnson pulled away and officials parked McCreadie for the night.

Dale Planck finished third with Gary Tomkins and Jimmy Phelps, who started 17th, rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Brett Hearn, Stewart Friesen, Matt Sheppard, Dale Planck, Gary Tomkins, Jimmy Phelps, Billy Dunn, Ryan Godown, Billy Decker, Matt Billings, Peter Britten, Justin Haers, Duane Howard, Billy VanInwegen, Dave Rauscher, Adam Roberts, Mat Williamson, Brian Swartzlander, Tim Currier, Rick Laubach, Rich Scagliotta, Carey Terrance, Danny Johnson, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Tim Fuller, Tim McCreadie, Keith Flach, Kevin Bates.


Posted by on Nov 8 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!