Dirt Modifieds

His Track, His Modified Trophy

Ken Schrader, shown earlier this season, won Thursday's UMP modified feature at Macon (Ill.) Speedway. (Scott Frazier Photo)

Ken Schrader, shown earlier this season, won Thursday’s UMP modified feature at Macon (Ill.) Speedway. (Scott Frazier Photo)

MACON, Ill. — Macon Speedway co-owner Ken Schrader claimed his first DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the summer Thursday night at the quarter-mile oval.

Schrader rallied late for the victory, which came one night after his lifelong friend and fellow NASCAR driver, Kenny Wallace, won at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

“We just got rolling around the middle,” said Schrader, who tested a USAC Silver Crown car in Indianapolis for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series star Tony Stewart earlier in the day. “We got to second and then lapped traffic worked out for us, so we just got lucky there.”

Schrader outran Jeremy Nichols for the victory with Jeff Leka, Mike Harrison and Cory Daugherty rounding out the top five.

Shannon Babb won the late model feature.

The finish:

Ken Schrader, Jeremy Nichols, Jeff Leka, Mike Harrison, Cory Daugherty, Chad Evans, Curt Rhodes, Rodney Bowman, Matt Goulden, Dave Crawley, Ethan Schnapp, Danny Smith, Guy Taylor, Cody Bauman, Ray Bollinger, Mike McKinney, Zach Bunning, Tommy Sheppard Jr., Eric Hamilton. Rick Weitekamp, Jeremy Nichols, Chad Sellers.


Posted by on Jul 11 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!