Dirt Modifieds

It’s All Friesen In Big-Block Modifieds

Stewart Friesen won Thursday night's DIRTcar modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park. (R.E. Wing photo)

Stewart Friesen won Thursday night’s DIRTcar modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park. (R.E. Wing photo)

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Stewart Friesen is a factor in any race he enters, so when he picked the pole for Thursday night’s Super DIRTcar Series big-block-modified race at Volusia Speedway Park, most of the crowd thought he’d win easily.

And they were right!

Friesen blasted away from front-row companion Peter Britten and Wednesday winner Justin Haers and left them to settle second between them. Haers would take it away from Britten on lap nine but the Australian took it right back and held it to the checkered flag, though he was a full straight behind Friesen’s Tom Cullen owned No. 1.

“I had a good race car,” said the fleet Canadian with a huge grin. “But I almost gave it away when I stuffed it into the wall when it got out from under me. I scared hell out of my crew but it didn’t seem to hurt the car any and I never slowed down any.”

Ninth-starting Brett Hearn, who had struggled the night before, got better as the race wound down. He took fourth from Billy Pauch on lap 19, then shot down Haers and began closing rapidly on Britten as the 30-lapper wound down.

But he had to settle for third ahead of Haers, 11th starting Jimmy Phelps and Pauch.

“I just started too far back,” said Hearn. “At the end, I was really closing on Britten.”

“He might have been, but I never heard him,” offered Britten. “Stewart got off to a really good start but it took me a while to settle in. By then, he was gone.”

The finish:

Stewart Friesen, Peter Britten, Brett Hearn, Justin Haers, Matt Sheppard, Billy Pauch, Billy VanInwegen, Mario Clair, Anthony Perrego, Jimmy Phelps, Jimmy Horton, Tim Kerr, Dale Planck, Mat Williamson, Steve Bernard, Jamie Mills, Kevin Albert, Neal Williams, Randy Chrysler, Rich Scagliotta, Yan Bussiere, H.J. Bunting, Kyle Sheldon, Dave Rauscher, Dave Allen, Jeremy Wilder, Darwin Greene, Rob Bellinger, C.G. Morey, Roger Chrysler, Chris Ostrowsky, Daniel Nadeau, Bruno Lepage.



Posted by on Feb 21 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!