Dirt Modifieds

Johnny Scott Ends USMTS Drought

Johnny Scott captured Sunday's United States Modified Touring Series feature at Upper Iowa Speedway. (USMTS Photo)

Johnny Scott captured Sunday’s United States Modified Touring Series feature at Upper Iowa Speedway. (USMTS Photo)

DECORAH, Iowa – Johnny Scott found a way around Kelly Shryock with five laps to go and found his way back to victory lane Sunday night as the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by Swan Energy put the wraps on a memorable Memorial Day Weekend at the Upper Iowa Speedway.

Shryock, who earned the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award earlier in the program, set sail at the start of the 40-lap main event with Todd Scharkey, Zack VanderBeek and Scott in tow.

VanderBeek got by Scharkey for second on lap 3 and Scott followed into third one lap later as the lead trio took off on a three-car battle that lasted the rest of the race.

Back-to-back cautions with six laps to go slowed the action and Scott went searching on the high side when the field went back to green.

Relegated to the outside line for the restart, the 24-year-old from Las Cruces, N.M., found the top of the track to his liking and he blasted in front of VanderBeek on the restart.

One lap later, Scott powered around the outside of Shryock in turn 4 and took the lead for the first time-and for good-as they completed lap 35.

The win, worth $2,000, was Scott’s first since winning at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas, on March 20, and the 25 victory of his United States Modified Touring Series career.

VanderBeek, who has 24 lifelong wins to his credit, followed Scott’s lead and jumped to the outside of Shryock, nipping the nine-time USMTS national champion by a bumper’s length at the flagstand for second place.

The finish:

Johnny Scott, Zack VanderBeek, Kelly Shryock, Stormy Scott, Dereck Ramirez, Bryan Rowland, Lucas Schott, Josh Angst, Jason Schlangen, Joey Jensen, Daniel Hilsabeck, Chris Oertel, Clayton Wagamon, Brent Larson, Darwin Karau, Doug Hillson, Pat Graham, Joe Horgdal, Jake Gallardo, Corey Dripps, Todd Scharkey, Casey Arneson, Austin Arneson.

Posted by on May 26 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!