Dirt Modifieds

Johnny Scott Owns Kennedale USMTS Go

KENNEDALE, Texas – The USMTS Modifieds returned to the Kennedale Speedway Park for a second time this season Thursday night, and Johnny Scott picked up where he left off with his second trip to victory lane in as many tries.

Dallas-area favorite Troy Taylor wrestled the lead away from Kelly Shryock when the green flag waved to start the 40-lap main event, and then Scott slipped into second place with three laps in the books.

Churning away at the thin cushion around the high side of the track, Taylor maintained a torrid pace up front as Scott hounded him through the first 14 laps with Shryock, Bobby Malchus and Chris Brown in tow.

Battling three-wide down the back-stretch for third, something had to give and that something was Malchus’ tire. His slashed American Racer racing tire forced him to slow and stop on the track, bringing out the caution flag just as the leaders were approaching a swarm of back-markers on lap 14.


Scott pulled even with Taylor on the restart, and eventually nosed ahead on lap 17.


Twelve laps later, Clyde Dunn Jr. and Dereck Ramirez got together in turn 1 while fighting for the seventh spot. The result was a red flag as Dunn’s machine rolled over at the top of the banking. He was unhurt, but both drivers were out of the contest.

On the restart, Scott pulled away from the pack and the 23-year-old from Las Cruces, N.M., sailed away to his second win in as many nights and second in a row at Kennedale.

The win was worth another $4,000 with his “Big Dog Buy-In” and the 18th of his USMTS career. His triumph here on April 26 was his 15th overall at the time.

Brown held on for a runner-up paycheck while the winner’s older twin brother, Stormy Scott, quietly advanced to third after needing a provisional to start the feature in 25th.

Coming from 16th on the 27-car starting grid, Zack VanderBeek maneuvered to a fourth-place finish and earned the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award for the fifth time during the 2013 campaign.

Shryock held off Rodney Sanders at the checkered flag to take the fifth spot. Taylor, David Winslett, Tristan Dycus and Philip Houston rounded out the top 10.

Posted by on Jun 28 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!