Dirt Modifieds

Poel Gets No. 2 During Modified Nationals

CANTON, Ill. – Jacob Poel became the first multi-race winner of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, claiming the $1,000 checkered flag on Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway.

Poel didn’t have the fastest car to start the 25-lap feature race. He chased current points leader Matt Goulden, who managed to grab the lead on the start of the race and led the opening 11 laps. Poel managed to overtake Goulden on lap 12 and brought Jeff Curl with him, as Goulden slipped back through the field.

Poel dominated the second half of the A-main, leading the race’s final 14 laps, and building a lead of over 2.60 seconds. Poel claimed his second checkered of the season, less than a week after grabbing his first victory of the season at Kankakee County Speedway.

Goulden, Kelly Kouski and Jeff Leka rounded out the top five. Heat race winners included Poel, Ray Bollinger and Goulden.

The finish:

Jacob Poel, Jeff Curl, Matt Goulden, Kelly Kouski, Jeff Leka, Butch Weisser, Allen Weisser, Donovan Lodge, Tommy Duncan, David Wietholder, Billy Tuckwell, Ray Bollinger, Cory Daugherty, Cody Bauman, J.D. Beal, A.J. Fike, Joe Wagner, Jake Griffin, Brian Lynn, Darrel Moser, Rodney Bowman, Josh Tomlin.

Posted by on Jun 19 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!