Dirt Modifieds

Scott Storms Oklahoma Dirt

PRYOR CREEK, Okla. — Stormy Scott passed Jason Hughes on lap 16, and then out-gunned his chasers over the final 19 circuits to score a $4,000 payday and his fourth win of the season Saturday as the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series tackled the Salina Highbanks Speedway.

Earning his second front row start in as many nights, Hughes grabbed the early advantage in the 35-lap main event while Scott disposed of six competitors in four laps to move into the runner-up position.

Friday night’s winner, Jeremy Payne, joined Scott in the fourth row for the start of the race and followed him through the field, overtaking Johnny Bone Jr. for third with 11 laps in the books while Scott began to pressure Hughes for the top spot.

On lap 17 while jousting with back-markers, Scott made his move and slipped past Hughes for the lead. But the 2010 USMTS national champion didn’t fade and kept Scott in his crosshairs while they worked their way into lapped traffic.

A caution flag on lap 23 kept the leaders close together with a clear track in front of them. Back under green, Payne got around Hughes one lap later and followed Scott around the high side of the high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval.

The race’s third caution on lap 30 proved to be the downfall for Payne, however. As the green flag waved to start the final five-lap sprint to the finish, Payne bobbled in the first turn and by the time the field completed the next lap he had dropped seven spots.

Scott, on the other hand, was flawless for the final handful of go-arounds and sailed to his 12th career USMTS win and first at the popular Pryor Creek, Okla., speedplant.

Despite returning home without a trophy this weekend, Hughes held strong for a runner-up finish to go along with Friday night’s third-place result.

Johnny Scott raced from 11th on the starting grid to third at the finish line while two-time defending USMTS national champion Ryan Gustin claimed fourth with Rodney Sanders taking fifth and earning the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award.

The finish:

Stormy Scott, Jason Hughes, Johnny Scott, Ryan Gustin, Rodney Sanders, Johnny Bone Jr., Thomas Tillison Jr., Zack VanderBeek, Jeremy Payne, Terry Beckham II, Bryan Rowland, Trevor Hunt, Austin Siebert, Brian Williams, Casey Penn, Adam Penn, Joey Galloway, Kelly Shryock, Lynnsee Provence, Jeff Conner, Delaney Erickson, John Allen, Joe Duvall, Masen Big Eagle, Chris Theodore, Joe Adams.


Posted by on Apr 21 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!