Dirt Modifieds

Scott Storms Through Lawton

Stormy Scott captured Thursday's United States Modified Touring Series feature at Lawton (Okla.) Speedway. (Ryan McClosky Photo)

Stormy Scott captured Thursday’s United States Modified Touring Series feature at Lawton (Okla.) Speedway. (Ryan McClosky Photo)

LAWTON, Okla. – Stormy Scott edged Rodney Sanders in a hard fought 40-lap main event Thursday night as the United States Modified Touring Series made its debut at Lanny Edwards’ legendary Lawton Speedway.

Winner of three of the last four events for the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by Swan Energy, Sanders started seventh while Scott missed the eight-car redraw by one spot and began the main event right behind the defending USMTS national champ.

The duo remained dancing partners as they diced in and out of traffic on their way to the front with Sanders taking control of the race from Tom Tillison Jr. on lap 11. Two laps later, Scott followed into second place.

From that point on it was a two-car battle between the two head-turners of the 2014 season. While Sanders had won five of the last six races-including back-to-back nights at King of America IV in March-Scott was in search of his first checkered flag since winning his fourth MVT Gulf Coast Border Region race on March 1.

Sanders held serve until lap 32 when he was momentarily caught up in a tussle with a back-marker. The brief, thin opening was all that Scott needed to power past both cars and take charge. From there, Scott paced the final eight laps and survived a last-lap caution to score his first S&S Fishing & Rental Southern Region win of the year.

Kelly Shryock, who led the first seven laps before relinquishing the top spot to Tillison, held on for a third-place finish while Cade Dillard passes a dozen drivers en route to a fourth-place paycheck and the Mesilla Valley Transportation hard Charger Award.

Daniel Hilsabeck rounded out the top five finishers and John Allen bounced back from a lap three spin to garner the sixth spot. Rookie of the Year points leader Jake Gallardo, Clyde Dunn Jr., Bryan Rowland and Bobby Malchus finished seventh through tenth, respectively.

The finish:

Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders, Kelly Shryock, Cade Dillard, Daniel Hilsabeck, John Allen, Jake Gallardo, Clyde Dunn Jr., Bryan Rowland, Bobby Malchus, Jimmy Ray, Austin Theiss, Adam Penn, John Webb, Chris Cary, Kreg Dobson, Kip Hughes, Philip Houston, Stanley Reed, Thomas Tillison Jr., Cody Smith, Dereck Ramirez, Chris Dawson, Kinzer Edwards, Johnny Scott, Joe Duvall.

Posted by on May 16 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!