Dirt Modifieds

Taylor, Payne Adance To Duel In The Desert

LAS VEGAS — The first two nights of the annual Duel in the Desert at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway are in the record books.

This weekend’s event eclipsed last year’s record-setting entry list with 253 IMCA modifieds and 53 sport modifieds. On Saturday, the only way to gain access to the $7,777-to-win A-Feature will be through the hectic last-chance races.

Race fans from across the country may experience the event and follow the action by

Twenty heat races and 10 B mains for the modifieds on Friday night set the stage for a pair of 25-lap features, which were won by Jeremy Payne and Jay Noteboom. In the opener, Payne defeated Ricky Alvarado, Tyson Turnbull and Darin Duffy with all four qualifying for Saturday’s feature, while Mylo Veloz, Brandon Blochlinger and Matt Brack also transferred out of the nightcap.

Matt Mueller won the sport modified feature.

On Thursday, an identical number of heats and B mains culminated with Jeff Taylor leading John Hansen, Terry Phillips and David Murray Jr. home in the first 25-lap event on the half-mile dirt track.

Jason Noll topped the second main, followed by Alex Stanford, Dominic Ursetta and Jeremy Mills.

Posted by on Nov 10 2012 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!