Dirt Modifieds

Two Straight For Rodney Sanders

Rodney Sanders won Wednesday's United States Modified Touring Series event held at Osage Casino Caney Valley Speedway in Kansas. (Mike Spivey Photo)

Rodney Sanders won Wednesday’s United States Modified Touring Series event held at Osage Casino Caney Valley Speedway in Kansas. (Mike Spivey Photo)

CANEY, Kan. – Less than 24 hours after winning the feature race for the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by Swan Energy on the half-mile oval at Lakeside Speedway, Rodney Sanders repeated the feat with a victory Wednesday night on the feisty bullring at the Osage Casino Caney Valley Speedway.

His third-place finish in C&R racing Heat Race No. 1 was enough to make the redraw among the top eight passing points earners, and for the second straight night ‘The Rocket’ drew the pole position for the main event.

While he led all but one of the 35 laps the previous night, the defending USMTS national champion paced all 40 of the orbits on the quarter-mile of clay in Caney, Kan., to nab his 13th victory of the 2014 campaign.

In the 16-year history of the United States Modified Touring Series, Sanders’ triumph also drew several parallels to another former USMTS champ, Jason Krohn, who captured his first and only title in 2007.

Sanders has been dating Krohn’s oldest daughter, Samantha, for a little more than three years, and the two drivers often share hauler space and work shops when traveling between their home states of Texas and Minnesota.

After tonight, both drivers are now tied for sixth on the all-time wins list with 31 career USMTS victories. Kelly Shryock sits atop the heap with 181 career wins, followed by Jason Hughes (123), Ryan Gustin (68), Tommy Myer (42) and Jon Tesch (36) in the top five.

Not far behind, 2004 USMTS Rookie of the Year Zack VanderBeek came up about four car-lengths short of capturing his 27th USMTS victory and settled for the runner-up spot.

Joe Duvall turned a seventh-place starting spot into a third-place finish to record his career-best USMTS result while John Allen took fourth and current Rookie of the Year candidate Dylan Smith finished fifth.

The finish:

Rodney Sanders, Zack VanderBeek, Joe Duvall, John Allen, Dylan Smith, Jeremy Chambers, Kelly Shryock, Trevor Hunt, Lance Town, Travis Smith, Daniel Hilsabeck, Andy Morris, Gene Nicholas, Josh Griggs, Kinzer Edwards, Jerry Reeves, Dan Morris, Rick Beebe, Justin Rexwinkle.

Posted by on Jul 17 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!