Dirt Modifieds

Ty Dillon Dominates Gator Championship

Ty Dillon celebrates after winning Monday's UMP Modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla. (Hein Brothers Photo)

Ty Dillon celebrates after winning Monday’s UMP Modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla. (Hein Brothers Photo)

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Ty Dillon has dominated the DIRTcar Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment this year, and on Monday night at Volusia Speedway Park he earned his biggest victory of the week when he led wire-to-wire in the Gator Championship for DIRTcar UMP Modifieds.

Dillon drew the outside pole for the 30-lapper alongside Kenny Wallace and quickly jumped in front. Dillon methodically edged away lap-after-lap until a mid-race caution bunched the field.

Ty Dillon charged back to green with Nick Hoffman, Wallace and Matt Westfall in tow. Austin Dillon, Ty’s brother who won the Daytona 500 pole and was seeking his second win in as many nights, quickly picked off Westfall and Wallace and set his sights on Hoffman as he tried to catch his brother in front.

Then, a restart with three to go changed everything. As Ty Dillon powered back to the green flag, the left rear wheel of second-place-running Hoffman’s car came off, sending him into a spin that collected Austin Dillon, Wallace, Westfall and several others right under the flagstand on the frontstretch.

Everyone walked away from the incident and Ty Dillon eventually raced the final three laps holding off two-time national DIRTcar UMP Modified champion Devin Gilpin to the checkered flag for his third consecutive win.

“I’m glad everybody’s OK,” said Ty Dillon. “I’m happy it turned out that we got the win. Three in row for me, four in a row for Team Dillon Racing at the DIRTcar Nationals. It’s been a great week.”

The finish:
Ty Dillon, Devin Gilpin, Dale Mathison, Jeff Babcock, Kyle Strickler, Kent Robinson, Brian Ruhlman, Austin Arneson, David Stremme, Kenny Schrader, Dwight Niehoff, Kody Weisner, Cody Bauman, Steven Brooks, Nick Hoffman, Austin Dillon, Kenny Wallace, Matt Westfall, Tyler Nicely, Will Krup, Billy Workman Jr., Justin Allgaier, Bryce Jewell, Kyle Bronson, Jacob Poel, Dave Wiethholder, Collin Thirlby, Troy Girolamo.


Posted by on Feb 18 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!