Dirt Modifieds

Waits Knows The Way At Deer Creek

Brad Waits on his way to victory in Saturday's USMTS Modified feature at Deer Creek Speedway. (Buck Monson Photo)

Brad Waits on his way to victory in Saturday’s USMTS Modified feature at Deer Creek Speedway. (Buck Monson Photo)

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. – Brad Waits led all 40 laps of the caution-free United States Modified Touring Series main event Saturday night during the 12th Annual A&A Electric Minnesota Spring Challenge at the Deer Creek Speedway.

After earning the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award, the 2011 World Modified Dirt Track Championship winner took control at the drop of the green flag and maintained a four- to eight-car-length advantage over several challengers that swapped second place on several occasions.

Joel Alberts found his groove in the middle of the high-banked racing surface and moved ahead of Steve Wetzstein into the second spot on lap 3.

Soon after, Dereck Ramirez jumped underneath Alberts and the pair battled back and forth for nearly 20 laps, all the while keeping Waits within striking distance.

Meanwhile, Stormy Scott – an eight-time USMTS feature winner this season – was picking off cars at a rapid pace from his 14th starting spot, and moved in to join the battle for second at the midway point of the contest.

After muscling past Ramirez for third, Scott looked under Alberts for second but was unable to make the pass as the two raced virtually side by side the rest of the race.

With a surge in turns 1-2 on the final lap, Scott surged ahead of Alberts and was able to inch in front of him as they crossed the finish line about six car-lengths behind Waits and just in front of fourth-finishing Joey Jensen and Ramirez.

Kelly Shryock, Keith Foss, Jason Cummins, Eric Pember and Zack VanderBeek rounded out the top ten finishers.

Scott’s 12-car passing performance not only netted him his second Mesilla Valley Hard Charger Award in as many nights, but his last-lap pass for second also moved him into a first-place tie with Zack VanderBeek in the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Northern Region points standings.

Although 24 of the original 26 starters finished the non-stop feature, the leaders never caught the back of the field and all 24 cars running at the end finished on the lead lap.

The finish:

Brad Waits, Stormy Scott, Joel Alberts, Joey Jensen, Dereck Ramirez, Kelly Shryock, Keith Foss, Jason Cummins, Eric Pember, Zack VanderBeek, Steve Wetzstein, Craig Thatcher, Brandon Davis, Nate Wasmund, Bryan Rowland, Daniel Hilsabeck, Johnny Scott, Jacob Dahle, Austin Arneson, Lucas Schott, Josh Angst, Brent Larson, Jason Miller, Clayton Wagamon, Chris Oertel, Jake Gallardo.

Posted by on May 25 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Dirt Modifieds. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!