Lucas Oil Late Models

Carrier Conquers WVMS Dirt

MINERAL WELLS, W.Va. — Eddie Carrier Jr. finally claimed his first victory at West Virginia Motor Speedway, by winning Sunday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at the track.

Carrier took the lead from Brian Birkhofer on lap 33 and held off Josh Richards for his fourth career LOLMDS win. Richards, who brought out the first caution of the race with one lap scored, charged through the field to finish second. Don O’Neal came home third followed by Birkhofer and 13th-starting Jimmy Owens.

“It feels pretty good to finally win here, so close to Rocket Chassis. West Virginia has been my home state since I moved from Kentucky back in ’02,” said Carrier. “To win on this stage, with the caliber of drivers here, they are the best of the best no doubt about it, that’s why this is so special, the car was excellent today from the time we unloaded it out of the trailer.”

Birkhofer took the lead at the start of the 50-lap event and was in control for most of the first-half of the race until Carrier started to apply pressure. Carrier’s car was better in the long runs as he eventually tracked down Birkhofer. On lap 33, Carrier was able to make the pass on Birkhofer coming off of turn number four.

“I have to thank Carl Grover, he gave me an opportunity to drive his car several years ago, and we have had a great relationship through the years. I want to run this Lucas Oil Series to become a better driver,” Carrier said.

“Hats off to Eddie, he drove a great race. We were catching him at the end, but just ran out of laps,” Richards said. “I am glad to see a Rocket win here in West Virginia. The track was really good, but on the first lap I just slid there into the guardrail. I thought our night was over, but the crew checked the car out and we came back with a strong finish.”

In preliminary action, John Blankenship set the overall Time (Group A) among the 32 entrants, with a lap of 17.021 seconds.

The finish:

Eddie Carrier Jr., Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Brian Birkhofer, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Jared Hawkins, Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson Jr., Austin Hubbard, Bobby Pierce, Dennis Erb Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Donnie Moran, Jerry Lierly, Billy Moyer Jr., Jason McBride, Wayne Hughes, Steve Francis, Steve Shaver, Vic Coffey, D.J. Myers, Tim McCreadie.


Posted by on Apr 22 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!