Lucas Oil Late Models

Erb Runs Down Moyer At East Bay

Dennis Erb Jr. (28) won Thursday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

Dennis Erb Jr. (28) won Thursday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Dennis Erb Jr. earned his first victory of the season Thursday night at East Bay Raceway Park.

Erb had a fierce battle all race long and finally overtook Billy Moyer for the lead with seven laps to go in the 38th annual Winternationals event. Trailing Erb and Moyer to the finish were Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, and Brandon Sheppard.

“It feels great to beat Billy (Moyer) here and get a win for C.J. Rayburn and Rayburn Race Cars. The last few years we’ve really ran well here,” Erb said. “We just got this car at the beginning of January and rushed to get it together to bring it down to Golden Isles and East Bay. When he (Moyer) started running that high-line through one and two, I thought maybe I had a shot at him.”

Erb earned his fifth career win at East Bay Raceway Park. The win was the first at East Bay for a Rayburn Race Cars entry since Mike Marlar won in 2010.

Moyer was looking for his second straight victory at the 38th Winternationals, but it was not to be. When Erb made the winning pass, he took off and Moyer was never able to regain the top spot again.

“Hats off to him (Erb), he drove a good race. If we kept running through turn two like it was, we were not going to finish the race,” Moyer said. “So I entered turn one high and continued through two in the same line, but his car was good on the bottom, and I couldn’t get back around him.”

Owens settled for third as the three-time and defending series champion had his best finish of the season.

“Our car was off a tick and we weren’t going to beat Dennis or Billy tonight,” Owens said. “We had a good race with Scott (Bloomquist) for a long time. The car is getting better and hopefully tomorrow night we will have it dialed in.”

Erb set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time among the ¬48 entrants, with a lap of 14.094 seconds of the third-mile oval.

The finish:

Dennis Erb Jr., Billy Moyer, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Davey Johnson, Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier Jr., Devin Moran, Bobby Pierce, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Don O’Neal, Kenny Pettyjohn, Nick Davis, Mark Whitener, Jason Riggs, Ray Cook, Earl Pearson Jr., Brian Shirley, Billy Moyer Jr., Chad Hollenbeck, Gregg Satterlee, Jason Hughes, Vic Coffey, Eric Jacobsen.



Posted by on Feb 14 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!