Lucas Oil Late Models

It’s All Bloomquist At East Bay

Scott Bloomqust (0) and Brandon Sheppard share the front row for Tuesday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Scott Bloomquist won Tuesday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature in dominant fashion during the 37th annual DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park.

The win for Bloomquist marks his sixth career win at the third-mile dirt track and extended his all-time LOLMDS series victory total to 46 wins. The 49-year-old Hall of Famer led Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr. and John Blankenship to the checkered flag.

Bloomquist quickly grabbed the lead at the start of the main event keeping a comfortable lead for most of the race. The final caution flag came out with two laps to go, resetting and tightening the field back up. With a final two-lap dash standing between him and victory lane, Bloomquist held off the field to claim the prize. His self-designed chassis is powered by a Roush-Yates Ford Engine.

“The car has been spectacular all-week! We came so close to winning last night, then tonight we got off to another great start! We were able to capitalize on the pole-starting spot,” said Bloomquist. “Last year we were a little bit off. For a lot of drivers, it would have been a good year, but not for us. We have recently regrouped a little bit and the changes have meshed well together.”

After the race, O’Neal commented, “Scott was so good, there really wasn’t much left at the end to get up there and pass him. We are off to a good start this season, and when we start the points at the end of the week, we feel like we have the car to beat this year.”

Brandon Sheppard set the overall Red Buck Fast Time (Group B) among the 44 entrants, with a lap of 14.420 seconds.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr., John Blankenship, Mike Marlar, Eric Jacobsen, Mark Whitener, Vic Coffey, Tyler Reddick, Brandon Sheppard, Donnie Moran, David Breazeale, Austin Hubbard, Jimmy Owens, Eddie Carrier Jr., Doug Drown, Devin Moran, Todd Frank, Jason Riggs, Billy Moyer Jr., Justin Rattliff, Dan Stone, Bobby Pierce, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Billy Moyer.


Posted by on Feb 13 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!