Lucas Oil Late Models

It’s All Bloomquist At Tri-City

Scott Bloomquist (0) battles Jimmy Owens en route to winning Friday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Tri-City Speedway. (Don Figler photo)

Scott Bloomquist (0) battles Jimmy Owens en route to winning Friday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Tri-City Speedway. (Don Figler photo)

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. — Scott Bloomquist led all 50 laps to win Friday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Spring Classic at Tri-City Speedway.

Bloomquist was only challenged a few times by runner-up Jimmy Owens as he won for the second time in the last three LOLMDS races.

Trailing Bloomquist and Owens to the finish line were Randy Korte, Don O’Neal, and John Blankenship.

“Our Sweet-Bloomquist car has been strong all year long, we struggled a little last night, but tonight was a different story. It has been awhile since we have won here. Kevin (Gundaker) and everybody here does a great job with this track, they have built a nice facility here,” Bloomquist said. “With the rain they had this week, the track was pretty good, there were some rough patches in three and four. I tried to go above them but didn’t want to lose my momentum. I saw Jimmy once, and that really got me going.”

Bloomquist started on the outside of the front row and held a steady advantage for the entire race. Owens pulled close a couple of times after restarts, but could not maintain the pace that Bloomquist set.

Bobby Pierce, who started 11th and was looking for his sixth straight win at Tri-City, made it up to third spot, but hit the wall on the 27th lap, ending his night. Pierce had been pressuring Owens for second when his solid run came to an abrupt halt.

Korte, in his final year of driving, came into the event as the tracks current points’ leader. He started eighth in the race and worked his way past Earl Pearson Jr. and O’Neal when Pearson broke on lap 34. Korte would finish a solid third at the finish.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 14.299 seconds.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Randy Korte, Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Birkhofer, Eddie Carrier Jr., Brian Shirley, Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr., Jason Hughes, Jason Riggs, Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., Bub McCool, Bobby Pierce, Jimmy Mars, Shannon Babb, Jason Papich, Dewayne Kiefer, Billy Moyer Jr., Jim Shereck, Scott Weber, Billy Laycock.



Posted by on May 3 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!