Lucas Oil Late Models

It’s All Davenport In Lucas LM Opener

Jonathan Davenport in victory lane Friday afternoon at Golden Isles Speedway. (Rick Schwallie photo)

Jonathan Davenport in victory lane Friday afternoon at Golden Isles Speedway. (Rick Schwallie photo)

WAYNESVILLE, Ga. — Former Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Rookie of the Year Jonathan Davenport dominated Friday afternoon’s season opener for the series at Golden Isles Speedway.

Davenport set a track record during time trials, won his heat, and led all 25 laps of the first event for the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing.

The win marked his third career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory.

Davenport’s other LOLMDS victories were in the state of Virginia at Winchester Speedway and Virginia Motor Speedway both during the 2010 season.

“I can’t thank Kevin (Rumley), Leroy (Rumley) and Longhorn Chassis enough,” Davenport said. “This deal just came together at the end of last year. I have driven for them before but to come together so quick with this car, it says a lot about this team.”

Davenport was unchallenged for a majority of the $5,000-to-win event, which was the first LOLMDS race at Golden Isles Speedway since 2008.

Last year’s series rookie of the year, Billy Moyer Jr. ran second for the first 11 laps until yielding to Brandon Sheppard. Moyer then lost another spot a few circuits later to Earl Pearson Jr., who took third spot.

A caution flag with five laps to go set up a five-lap dash to the finish, but Davenport was too strong as he fought off Sheppard’s challenges.

Sheppard, who is subbing for Josh Richards in the Mark Richards Racing, Rocket House Car crept to within a car length, but Davenport pulled away in the closing laps.

“We stayed with him on that last restart for a little bit, but he was too strong, congrats to them,” Sheppard said. “This is a new car. We will go back make some adjustments for tonight and see what happens.”

Pearson finished third with Moyer and Tim McCreadie filling the top five.

Davenport set the overall Georgia Boot Fast Time (Group A) among the ­33 entrants, with a lap of 14.921 seconds.

The finish:

Jonathan Davenport, Brandon Sheppard, Earl Pearson Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Tim McCreadie, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Dennis Franklin, Jimmy Owens, Devin Moran, Gregg Satterlee, Steve Shaver, John Blankenship, Brian Shirley, Brady Smith, Chad Hollenbeck, Russell Brown Jr., Jason Fitzgerald, Jared Landers, Ray Cook, Vic Coffey, Randy Weaver, Dennis Erb Jr.



Posted by on Feb 7 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!