Lucas Oil Late Models

It’s All Francis On Final Night At Golden Isles

Steve Francis won Saturday night's Super Bowl of Racing at Golden Isles Speedway. (Rick Schwallie photo)

Steve Francis won Saturday night’s Super Bowl of Racing at Golden Isles Speedway. (Rick Schwallie photo)

WAYNESVILLE, Ga. — Steve Francis won the final Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing.

Francis displayed his dominance as he led all 50 laps of the main event. The win at Golden Isles Speedway marks his 14th career series win.

Francis became the third different winner of the weekend, crossing the finish line ahead of Eddie Carrier Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist and Brandon Sheppard.

“I can’t say enough about this Barry Wright Race Car,” Francis said. “It handled so well all night long. The only concern I had was coming off turn four a few times was jumping the cushion and losing my momentum. I had to make sure I got into that corner the best I could.

“I think all weekend long, the track was in good condition and made for a great show for the fans. We could race anywhere on it. We had a lot of fun out there tonight. It was a great points night, and a really good start to the season.”

Francis and his Clint Bowyer Racing Team have set their sights on winning the title in 2014. “I have to thank Clint for giving me this opportunity,” Francis added. “He gives us what we need, the Clements Racing Engine had plenty of horsepower and it’s great to win for Georgia Boot and everybody associated with them.”

Carrier chased Francis until the final laps when Francis built a lead that carried him to the checkered flag.

“On that last restart, I tried to stay with Steve the best I could,” Carrier said. “We were not going to beat him tonight. It was another good run for us. We will be ready for East Bay next week and hopefully continue our strong efforts.”

Pearson recorded his third top-three finish of the weekend and earned an additional bonus of $2,000 courtesy of Hot Rod Tracker for garnering the most points.

Chris Madden set the overall Georgia Boot Fast Time (Group B) amongs the ¬34 entrants, with a lap of 15.020 seconds.

The finish:

Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Ray Cook, Brian Shirley, Jared Landers, Don O’Neal, Brady Smith, Jason Hughes, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Kenny Pettyjohn, Billy Moyer Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Ricky Weiss, Chris Madden, Dennis Franklin, Mike Stadel, Gregg Satterlee, Randy Weaver, Tim McCreadie, Jonathan Davenport.



Posted by on Feb 9 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!