Lucas Oil Late Models

Moyer Grabs $10,000 At Lakeside Speedway

Billy Moyer (21) races under Jared Landers en route to winning Tuesday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. (Ivan Veldhuizen photo)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Billy Moyer took the lead on lap 19 and went on to win the first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Model Series event Tuesday at Lakeside Speedway.

Moyer pocketed $10,000, in scoring his first LOLMDS win of the season. He also became the 13th different winner this year.

Steve Francis started 18th, and came roaring through the field to finish second. He was followed by Don O’Neal, Jared Landers and John Blankenship, who started 15th.

Landers grabbed the lead at the start of the 50-lap race and held the point until Moyer passed him with 19 laps scored. Landers remained in second until his Clint Bowyer teammate, Francis, took the spot away from him on lap 27.

Moyer held a sizable lead over Francis until a caution came out with 20 laps to go. Francis tried to overhaul Moyer, closing to within a car-length with five laps left. Moyer was able to use lapped traffic to his advantage and held off Francis.

“This has been a rough year for us so far,” said Moyer, who registered his fifth overall win of the year. “We had a rough weekend at Wheatland, so we went home and worked our rear ends off to get this car ready for tonight. I have to give a special thanks to Sparks Racing, as well.”

Francis, who was coming off his first series win of the season last Friday at Tri-City Speedway nearly, came home with the victory.

“We wanted to win so badly for Clint here tonight, especially with it being his home track,” he said. “We had to dig deep after qualifying. I didn’t think we could ever recover from that. I have to thank Barry and Lance Wright, they had to work on two cars tonight and I hope Clint is pleased with our efforts.”

O’Neal ran second, for the first 15 laps of the race, brought his Optima Batteries, MasterSbilt house car home third.

“We had a good car all night, we switched to the bigger Jay Dickens engine and it really performed well,” O’Neal explained. “We hung in there with Landers early on, and then the car started to push a little, but in the last few laps, we got back going and was catching Francis.”

Jared Landers set the overall time (Group B) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 17.011 seconds.

The finish:

Billy Moyer, Steve Francis, Don O’Neal, Jared Landers, John Blankenship, Tyler Reddick, Mike Marlar, Ryan Gustin, Terry Phillips, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jimmy Owens, Jason Bodenhamer, Jason Feger, Dennis Erb Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Craig Vosbergen, Tommy Weder, Jerry Lierly, John Anderson, Jack Sullivan, Will Vaught, Tony Jackson Jr., Wendell Wallace.


Posted by on Jul 17 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!