Lucas Oil Late Models

Moyer Tops Francis For 22nd East Bay Win

Billy Moyer won Tuesday night's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

Billy Moyer won Tuesday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Billy Moyer raced to victory on Tuesday night at East Bay Raceway Park.

Moyer took the lead from Steve Francis on lap 22 and led the rest of the way in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned East Bay Winternationals.

It was Moyer’s 22nd win at East Bay, which is the most of any late model driver in the history of the Winternationals. Francis finished second, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Don O’Neal rounded out the top five.

“This car has been good all year,” said Moyer, as he stood next to his new Longhorn Chassis race car. “It’s been great to be working with the Labontes, Earl Pearson Jr., Kevin Rumley and Matt Langston. Trying to catch Steve (Francis) was going to be tough after he got off to a good start, but we were eventually able to run him down.”

Francis bolted into the lead at the start. Brandon Sheppard ran second for the first ten laps of the race. Moyer started fourth and finally got by Sheppard on lap 11. Moyer then tracked down Francis, passing him for the lead coming of off turn number two with three laps to go.

“We were a little too loose after I ran awhile,” said Francis. “Billy got such a run off of turn two, there was nothing I could do about it,” said the driver of the Georgia Boot, Clint Bowyer owned No. 15. “When you have Billy Moyer behind you at East Bay you are going to be in trouble. With the number of wins he has here, he’s awfully tough to beat at this race track.”
Sheppard earned his second consecutive podium finish.

“We were close last night; I thought with the changes we made to free it up, it would help,” Sheppard said. “We were in the hunt for a win, that’s all I can ask for. Hopefully we will be in victory lane soon.”

John Blankenship turned a track record 13.854-second lap of the third-mile track during qualifying for the 47-car field.
The finish:

Billy Moyer, Steve Francis, Brandon Sheppard, Eddie Carrier Jr., Don O’Neal, Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Landers, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Landers, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Jason Riggs, Kenny Pettyjohn, Brian Shirley, Booper Bare, Tim McCreadie, Dan Stone, Chad Hollenbeck, Bobby Pierce, Gregg Satterlee, Devin Moran, John Mollick, Davey Johnson, Jason Hughes, Billy Moyer Jr., Kevin Weaver, Randy Weaver.


Posted by on Feb 12 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!