Lucas Oil Late Models

O’Neal Is A Whiskey Rock-A-Roller

LAWRENCEBURG, Ind. – Don O’Neal returned to his home-state of Indiana on Saturday night and won the Whiskey City 50 at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

It was O’Neal’s sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season and O’Neal continues to close the gap on current point leader, Jimmy Owens, who came home sixth.

O’Neal grabbed the lead on lap four from his Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Steve Francis and charged to his 39th career LOLMDS victory. Francis finished second followed by polesitter, Scott Bloomquist. Steve Casebolt drove by Earl Pearson Jr. on the final lap to take fourth, as Pearson would round out the top five.

“The car was on a rail tonight, no doubt,” said O’Neal. “I have to thank Lance and Barry Wright, Jeremy Justice, and Tony Trent for all of the hard work they do. Clint’s going to be real happy with this one-two finish here tonight.”

“We started fifth and the bottom was working real well there early on. I had a few moments there in traffic, but everybody gave each other plenty of room. It’s good to come back here and win, especially after missing last year’s race. I didn’t know how far Steve (Francis) was behind me, I was just concentrating on the traffic ahead.”

“We had a pretty good car last week at Batesville, led a lot of laps, but finished fifth. Then Thursday Night, we wound up sixth. We took last night off and the crew went over everything on the car. It handled really well tonight from start to finish. I am real proud of everyone with the CBR Team.”

Francis, who was victorious in this race a year ago, was extremely happy with his second place finish.

“We had a really good car tonight. Our setup was not all that different from Don’s. Congrats to him on the win, and he deserves it. He ran a really good race,” Francis said. “We tried to stay with him and I thought I may have a shot at him in traffic, but he was able to get through it cleanly. I want to thank Georgia Boot, Peak Antifreeze, Crawford Supply, and everyone else on the CBR Team. We hope to finish up the season strong.”

The finish:

Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Casebolt, Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Jared Landers, Dennis Erb Jr., Scott James, John Blankenship, Duane Chamberlain, Eric Jacobsen, Jason Hughes, Brandon Overton, Dustin Linville, Eddie Carrier Jr., Brandon Kinzer, Dan Schlieper, Jason Papich, Zak Blackwood, Bill Blair Jr., Kent Robinson, Mike Marlar, Ted Nobbe.

Posted by on Aug 23 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!