Lucas Oil Late Models

Owens Edges O’Neal At Lawrenceburg

LAWRENCEBURG, Ind. — Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion, Jimmy Owens picked up his fourth series win of the season Saturday night.

Owens led every lap in capturing the Whiskey City 50 presented by Sign-A-Rama before a huge crowd at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Don O’Neal finished second, followed by John Blankenship.

Owens, who entered the event as the point leader, started on the outside of the front row and took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Eric Wells grabbed second for the first six laps behind Owens before yielding to Jared Landers.

Landers appeared early on to be the only one able to hang with Owens, but Blankenship powered to second position on lap 16 around Landers. By that point of the race, Owens had already built a sizable advantage over the field. Blankenship tried to make up ground on Owens and was closing in on the leader when a caution for debris slowed the action for the first and only time during the race.

On the restart, Owens had Blankenship and O’Neal lined up behind him in the double-file restart, but Owens then pulled out to a lead that carried him all the way to the checkered flag for his 33rd career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory.

“The car was just fantastic all night long,” Owens said. “I have to thank Mike Reece, my car owner, and all the crew they did a great job on the car. We were disappointed with our race on Thursday at Bulls Gap, and it seems like forever since we have won a race.”

“We had a third place car for most of the race,” said O’Neal, who won last year’s LOLMDS event at Lawrenceburg. “We were fortunate to get by John (Blankenship) there towards the end of the race.”

Completing the top five behind Owens, O’Neal, and Blankenship were 10th starting, Steve Francis and 16th place starter Brian Birkhofer.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 29 entrants, with a lap of 14.360 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Eric Wells, Eddie Carrier Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Tyler Reddick, Jonathan Davenport, Joe Janowski, Stephen Breeding, D.J. Wells, Tim Rivers, Frank Heckenast, Jimmy Mars, Scott James, Mike Marlar, Brad Neat, Tyler Allen, Greg Johnson.


Posted by on Aug 26 2012 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!