Lucas Oil Late Models

Owens Returns To Winning Form At LoneStar

Jimmy Owens (center) won Saturday’s Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series race at LoneStar Speedway. He’s joined by runner-up Scott Bloomquist and third-place Steve Francis. (Rich Schwallie photo)

KILGORE, Texas — Two-time and reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion Jimmy Owens survived to win the 50-lap High Banks Havoc Saturday Night at LoneStar Speedway.

Owens earned $10,000 for his second LOLMDS win of the season and the 38th of his career.

Owens took the lead from Scott Bloomquist on lap 33 and held off Bloomquist for the win. Steve Francis finished third followed by Don O’Neal and Jared Landers.

“It is really a weight off of our shoulders to win this race after we had a rough time in Florida. It really was a pretty good race having several different leaders, I saw Scott running a line to avoid the holes and I followed him for a longtime, and finally we were able to pass him,” said Owens.

O’Neal would take the lead at the start of the race and hold the point until he slowed with a flat tire on the 19th lap. After O’Neal pitted for a fresh tire, he rejoined the race on the tail. Bloomquist then inherited the lead, and led until lap 33 when Owens powered by Bloomquist for lead.

Bloomquist like Owens needed a good points night as well and got what he wanted. “We started off slow last year and came back to finish third in the points,” he said. “It was treacherous tonight, but we have a well-built car and it held up in these rough conditions. We were airborne several times out there and then we found a line that was somewhat smoother to run but I couldn’t hold Jimmy off. Congratulations to Jimmy on his win in one of our cars and Dennis (Erb) had a good finish as well.”

In preliminary action, Bobby Pierce set the overall Time (Group B) among the 39 entrants, with a lap of 14.199 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Don O’Neal, Jared Landers, Dennis Erb Jr., Chris Wall, John Blankenship, B.J. Robinson, Bobby Pierce, Jerry Lierly, Billy Moyer Jr., Tyler Erb, Eddie Carrier Jr., Timothy Culp, Jason McBride, Eric Turner, Michael Asberry, Earl Pearson Jr., Austin Hubbard, Shane Hebert, Jack Sullivan, Rob Litton, Robbie Stuart.


Posted by on Apr 7 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!