Lucas Oil Late Models

Owens Stops Bloomquist At Tazewell

Scott Bloomquist (left) and Jimmy Owens discuss their battle Friday night at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)

Scott Bloomquist (left) and Jimmy Owens discuss their battle Friday night at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)

TAZEWELL, Tenn. — In a classic battle between two Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champions, Jimmy Owens outran Scott Cloomquist Friday night at Tazewell Speedway.

Owens passed Bloomquist on the 36th lap and sailed away for his second series win of the season in front of a huge crowd at the Toyota Knoxville 50.

Bloomquist led the first 36 laps until he got trapped behind a lapped car and Owens swept by him on the outside coming off of turn four. Bloomquist had to hold off hard-charging Chris Madden to finish second. Point leader Don O’Neal came home fourth, followed by two-time track champion Billy Ogle, Jr.

“The car was just great all night,” said the driver of the Club 29 Chassis owned by Mike Reece. “The race got off to a rough start. I think it was a little bit slimy down low there in one and two and when I saw Scott catch the traffic, I figured I might as well go in harder in turns three and four up top. It worked out for us. It has been a long day, my mom had surgery this morning and they may have to re-do it again tomorrow, so my thoughts are with her.”

Bloomquist was happy with his performance, despite losing the lead late in the race. “Yes the car was really fast; we had a good lead there for a while,” Bloomquist said. “That long green flag run we had, plus the lap traffic, our car tightened up a little bit. Congratulations to Jimmy on the win, he ran a good race. On the move he made for the lead when you are the trailing you have the advantage of seeing ahead better. He made the right move. I went down low and it cost me. But still we are satisfied with our run.”

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time among the 21 entrants, with a lap of 11.150 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Chris Madden, Don O’Neal, Billy Ogle Jr., Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jason Hughes, Earl Pearson Jr., Jason Papich, Cody King, Josh Henry, Dennis Erb Jr., Matthew Holt, Bobby Mays, John Blankenship, Wade Howerton, Eric Jacobsen, Steve Francis, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Chad Ogle.


Posted by on May 31 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!