Lucas Oil Late Models

Pearson Snags Lucas LM Prize

Earl Pearson Jr. (44), shown at East Bay Raceway Park, won Wednesday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

Earl Pearson Jr. (44), shown at East Bay Raceway Park, won Wednesday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. — Earl Pearson Jr., driving the Lucas Oil Products No. 44, passed race leader Scott Bloomquist with two laps to go to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event Wednesday night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex.

It was Pearson’s first LOLMDS win in 2014.

Bloomquist took the lead from race long leader Mason Zeigler on lap 27 and was in control of the race until Pearson and Owens tracked him down late in the race. Bloomquist slipped slightly in turn four with three laps to go and that opened the door for Pearson, who had trailed Bloomquist for the previous 19 laps.

Pearson dove under Bloomquist as they came to the white flag and forged ahead for the lead and brought his car to the checkered flag for the first time this season.

“What a great finish,” said Pearson. “I almost ran out of laps to pass him. The car just kept getting better and better. I knew I was faster than him (Bloomquist), and then he pushed up there in turn four and we were able to get underneath him. I did not want to see a caution flag in those last ten laps, I am glad it stayed green,” said Pearson, who became the 14th different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

“We have had all sorts of things break this year, from transmissions to rear ends, to all kinds of crazy stuff. Our car has been strong all year and it finally feels good to get a win for Bobby Labonte. These Longhorn cars have been strong all over the country this year. Kevin Rumley has done a superb job with these cars ever since he came on board.”

Owens snuck under Bloomquist at the finish line to take second, just behind Pearson.

“We got it going late and we finally caught Scott and Earl there at the end; the next thing I knew, we almost won the race,” Owens said. “Scott slid up in four and I thought Earl might due to the same thing. We almost stole that one. I hope the crowd enjoyed that race. I have to thank Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Edge Services, and all of my other great sponsors for making this possible.”

Bloomquist came home third was disappointed after leading so many laps.

“With this car, we have not been outside the top three,” Bloomquist said. “We had bad luck at Smoky Mountain with that cut tire, and then to get the lead here tonight and thinking this was going to be our night, it is disappointing. I got into some crumbs there in turn four and the car slid up the track.”

Steve Francis set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time with a lap of 15.637 seconds.

The finish:

Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier Jr., Mason Zeigler, Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Gregg Satterlee, Vic Coffey, Rick Eckert, Austin Hubbard, Jason Hughes, Jared Landers, Mike Lupfer, Corey Conley, Chuck Harper, Jason Papich, Cody Hardesty, Davey Johnson, Jared Hawkins, John Garvin, Michael Lake, Tim Senic.

Posted by on Jul 3 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Lucas Oil Late Models, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!