Other Dirt Series

All About Consistency For Madden

Chris Madden (44) battles Mike Marlar during Friday's Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series event at Smoky Mountain Speedway. (Michael Moats Photo)

Chris Madden (44) battles Mike Marlar during Friday’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series event at Smoky Mountain Speedway. (Michael Moats Photo)

BRASSTOWN, N.C. — All it took for Chris Madden to pick up his fifth-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Old Man’s Garage title was to sign in at the tour finale at Tazewell Speedway on Saturday.

The Gray Court, S.C. driver took his fifth championship by just 31 points over Eric Jacobsen. This was Madden’s fifth championship in just eight seasons as he racked up his first championship with the series back in 2007.

Madden picked up only one win during the 10 races which came on Aug. 1 at Smoky Mountain (Tenn.) Speedway. But Madden’s five top-five finishes and ten-straight top-10 finishes consistently propelled him to the series championship.

Lurking in the distance for his first-career championship was California native Eric Jacobsen. Three top-five finishes and nine top-ten finishes kept him on the heels of Madden during the entire tour and while Jacobsen’s win came in the final event, he still secured enough points to hold down the runner-up spot in the final standings.

Madden collected $15,365 in prize money throughout the ten races as well as $5,053 for the championship. Jacobsen picked up $2,553 for second-place in the final points. Billy Ogle Jr. collected $2.053 for his third place finish in the final point standings while Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn. took home $1,553 for fourth place in the final tallies. Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. picked up $1,053 for fifth place in the points and Austin Smith took home $753 for his sixth place finish. Australian Craig Vosbergen finished seventh in the points and took home $653 while Stacy Boles and Anthony Burroughs took home $553 for eighth and ninth respectively.

Ogle, the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series presented by Schaeffer’s Oil Champion finished third in this season’s Southern Nationals. By virtue of his third-place finish, Ogle captured the overall Championship points fund between the two tours and took home $5,053. Donald McIntosh was second in the overall points fund battle and took home and additional $2,553. Third in the overall points was Stacy Boles who took home the $2,053 check and Austin Smith took $1,553.

Smith was the 2014 AR Bodies Rookie of the Year. Austin attended all ten Southern Nationals events and finished an ultra-close two markers over Craig Vosbergen. The two drivers were neck-and-neck coming into the final event at Tazewell Speedway as both were tied meaning if one finished ahead of the other in the main event, they would be the top rookie competitor.

Posted by on Aug 6 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!