Other Dirt Series

Another Hell Tour Victory For Zeigler

Mason Zeigler scored his second-straight DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory Friday at Attica Raceway Park. (Jim DenHamer Photo)

Mason Zeigler scored his second-straight DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory Friday at Attica Raceway Park. (Jim DenHamer Photo)

ATTICA, Ohio – Though he had never before seen Attica Raceway Park, Mason Zeigler looked like a seasoned veteran Friday during the 32nd night of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The Chalk Hill, Pa., driver led all 40 non-stop laps to score his second straight Hell Tour victory worth $5,000 on Central Ohio Farmers/Summit Racing Equipment Night.

“I have to thank my crew (James Buckley and Darell Meyers) and my family and everyone who helps me. We’ve tried so hard. It’s taken us seven years to get to this point and we’re finally on the right path. Kevin Rumley and all the guys down there at Longhorn Chassis that have been helping me and getting me in line to be standing here. I praise those guys and thank the Lord every time before I go out on the race track,” said Zeigler.

“Ever since we got into this car I feel like I can feel the changes I’m making. After last year I worked with Austin Hargrove a little bit and I really started to understand the cars. And at this point now I can actually relate to what the car’s feeling and I can talk to Kevin about it and I can make the car do what I feel it needs to do which may not be the same as Davenport or anyone else in these things but it seems to be working for us,” added Zeigler.

Duane Chamberlain and Zeigler would bring the field of 22 to the green for their 40-lap feature. Zeigler served notice early he was the car to beat as he pulled away from Chamberlain, Dan Stone, Brian Shirley and Devin Moran. While Zeigler stretched his lead and Chamberlain ran comfortably in second, the battle for third was phenomenal between Stone, Shirley, Jason Riggs, Moran and Rusty Schlenk.

Zeigler would catch the back of the pack on lap 12 with Chamberlain holding off Shirley and Stone. Action would heat up on lap 15 as Moran drove from fourth to second in one corner with Stone taking third two laps later. At the half-way point Zeigler was picking his way through traffic with Moran closing somewhat while Shirley, Chamberlain and Stone waging a battle for third.

Zeigler, just 21 years old, worked his way through traffic like a seasoned veteran and began pulling away again from Moran with Shirley, Stone, Riggs, Doug Drown, Chamberlain and a closing Ryan Unzicker.

Zeigler would go unchallenged the remaining way, but the battle from second through eighth was entertaining to say the least.

When the checkers waved, Zeigler had a 3.6 second lead with Moran, Shirley, Stone and Riggs rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Mason Zeigler, Devin Moran, Brian Shirley, Dan Stone, Jason Riggs, Ryan Unzicker, Shannon Babb, Doug Drown, Brandon Sheppard, Duane Chamberlain, Rusty Schlenk, Tanner English, Jeff Babcock, Rocky Owens, Larry Kingseed, Steve Lance Jr., Jason Jaggers, Ryan Markam, Devin Shiels, Jeep Van Wormer, Ryan Missler, Steve Kester.

Posted by on Jul 19 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!