Other Dirt Series

Cook Captures $6,000 Ice Bowl

Ray Cook takes the checkered flag to win the Ice Bowl Sunday evening at the Talladega (Ala.) Short Track. (RonSkinnerPhotos.com)

TALLADEGA, Ala. — Despite a rough and choppy race track, North Carolina dirt-late-model veteran Ray Cook won Sunday’s Ice Bowl XXI at the Talladega Short Track.

Cook banked $6,000 for winning the annual winter classic at the quarter-mile dirt track and giving early promise to his 2012 racing campaign.

Joe Armistead, Jr. finished second with Stacy Holmes, Jason Hiett and Chad Winkles completing the top five.

Jeff Smith outran Larry Timms to win the crate model portion of the program.

Kyle Strickler copped the UMP-type modified feature and 327 cars in eight divisions were on hand.

The finish:

Ray Cook, Joe Armistead, Jr., Stacy Holmes, Jason Hiett, Chad Winkles, Jake Knowles, Jason Wilson, tim Rozell, David Brannon, Vic Hill, Ethan Hunter, Jeff Smith, Ross Martin, Lamar Scoggins, Terry Smith, Brad Hall, Jamie Dacus, Mike Weeks, Dillon Crim, Lee Burdett, Tony Knowles, Tim Busha, Benji Cole, Jason Welshan, Timothy Culp.



Posted by on Jan 9 2012 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!