Other Dirt Series

Eckrich Holds Off Guss For $10,000

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa — Andy Eckrich picked the perfect night to turn momentum around and remain in contention for the Deery Brothers Summer Series championship.

Eckrich reeled in, then held off Ray Guss, Jr. in a green-white-checkered finish for the $10,000 victory at Sunday’s Pepsi USA Nationals Deery Series main event at 34 Raceway.

The defending IMCA Late Model tour champion and current series point leader, Guss ran in front most of the 99-lapper before getting stuck in lapped traffic. Eckrich, the 2010 Deery rookie of the year, went around on the higher line and wound up beating Guss to the checkers by a car length.

Rounding out the top five were Justin Reed, Jay Johnson and Tom Goble.

The finish:

Andy Eckrich, Ray Guss, Jr., Justin Reed, Jay Johnson, Tom Goble, Colby Springsteen, Jeff Aikey, Tyler Bruening, Jason Perry, Matt Bailey, Keith Pratt, Charlie McKenna, Darrel DeFrance, Sam Halstead, T.J. Criss, Denny Woodworth, Mark Burgtorf, Jeff Guengerich, Terry Neal, Jay Chenoweth, Joey Gower, Matt Strassheim, Justin Kay, Mike Garland, Lonnie Bailey, Nate Beuseling.


Posted by on Sep 5 2011 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!