Other Dirt Series

Gilpin Cops $3,000 At Shadyhill

Devin Gilpin won the modified feature Wednesday night at Shadyhill Speedway in Indiana. (Gary Gasper photo)

MEDARYVILLE, Ind. — Devin Gilpin won the $3,000-to-win 12th annual Firecracker 50 for DIRTcar United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) modified stock cars Wednesday night at Shadyhill Speedway.

Leading the current “national” UMP point standings, the 21-year-old Gilpin led all 50 laps around the quarter-mile dirt oval after starting on the inside of the front row of the 22-car field. Gilpin posted his 24th modified feature win of the season.

Winning the sixth 10-lap qualifying heat race of the evening, Gilpin saw a roll of the dice give him his front row starting spot. That is all the young speedster needed when the race started as he quickly established himself the “point man” with Kevin DeYoung, who started on the outside of the eventual winner, giving chase.

Twenty laps were in the books before the first yellow flag flew as DeYoung found himself with a flat left front tire during the caution. When the green flag reappeared, Gilpin quickly built a strong margin with DeYoung, flat tire and all, holding on to second with Tom Bell third.

The second and final caution flag appeared with 30 laps complete with Gilpin still in command. Working his way to the front using the bottom groove, Kurt Allison, who started ninth, finally got by the DeYoung brothers, Kevin and Brad, on lap 44 for the runner-up spot.

Gilpin maintained a full straightaway lead at the checkered flag with Allison coming home second followed by Brad DeYoung and Kevin DeYoung. Derek Losh and Chip Risner rounded out the top six.

“They inverted six and that put us on the pole,” Gilpin said after his win. “That’s where you want to be. I was just trying to manage myself. I knew it was a 50-lap race. I was trying to set a pace, be smooth and get in a rhythm.”

Allison’s effort came up a little short.

“I actually fell back to 12th at the start,” said Allison. “I knew the top (groove) was going to burn out. I stuck it out on the bottom and, luckily, it started paying off. With all the extra laps, the track really changed big time from start to finish.”

Michigan’s Jacob Poel won the 20-lap “B” main for drivers, who did not qualify for the 50 lapper.


Posted by on Jul 5 2012 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!