Other Dirt Series

Johnson Romps In Bubba NeSmith Finale

Ronnie Johnson (5) claimed the finale of the week long series of NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series races Saturday night at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. (Al Steinberg photo)

OCALA, Fla. — It was good to have the first name of Ronnie or Ronny this week at Bubba Raceway Park for the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Rock Auto.com Speedweeks presented By Racecar Engineering at Bubba Raceway Park.

Ronnie Johnson won the 50-lap event Saturday night and Ronny Lee Hollingsworth took the Speedweeks Championship.

Johnson drove the NeSmith Chevrolet Special to the $3,000 win and posted his 15th career NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory, and his first in more than two years. Hollingsworth, who posted Rock Auto.com Speedweeks Presented By Racecar Engineering wins on Tuesday night, Wednesday night and Friday night, picked up a $2,000 bonus for the taking the points title.

Hollingsworth pocketed a total of $8,825 prize money and point fund awards during the five nights of NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series racing at Bubba Raceway Park.

Seventy-two drivers representing 12 different states and Canada participated in the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Rock Auto.com Speedweeks Presented By Racecar Engineering over five nights at Bubba Raceway Park, with an average nightly car count of 62 race cars.

Johnson was glad to end his NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory drought on Saturday night at Bubba Raceway Park, as he took the lead on lap 23 from Justin McRee of Cottondale, AL in the High Roller Race Cars Special, and went on to post a 3.837 second margin of victory at the checkered flag.

“I’ve been waiting for a racing surface like this all week,” Johnson said. “The track has been good this week, but tonight was the kind of track that really suits my driving style. We could race from top to bottom, and that really helped me get through lapped traffic. This is a special win because we haven’t won a NeSmith race for a couple of years.”

Johnson also said the win was special because one of his heroes from his younger days of racing was at the race.

“This race is also special because one of my heroes in racing, Larry Moore, was here tonight and he taught me a lot in the early days of my racing career,” Johnson said. Both Johnson and Moore are inductees in the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame.

McRee finished second followed by Walker Arthur in the third spot driving the Cecil B. Arthur Beef Farms Special. Hollingsworth was fourth in the Sparks Motorsports Special and Canadian driver Darren Peters took the fifth spot in the Billy Bones BBQ Rocket.

The finish:

Ronnie Johnson, Justin McRee, Walker Arthur, Ronny Hollingsworth, Darren Peters, Kyle Bronson, Joey Coulter, Josh Adkins, Andrew Satterlee, Shan Smith, Mack McCarter, Chase Washington, Shannon Lee, David Earl Gentry, Ryan Montgomery, Matthew Turner, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Tait Davenport, Mike Pegher Jr., Doug Horton, Jonathan Davenport, Chase Edge, Larry Harrod, Cody Martin, Greg Belyea, Johnny Stokes, Brad Smith.



Posted by on Feb 3 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!