Other Dirt Series

Madden Masters Tazewell Dirt

TAZEWELL, Tenn. — The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series visited Tazewell Speedway for the first time since 2006 on Saturday evening and Chris Madden led all 50 laps of the fourth annual Charles Trammell Memorial en route to a $5,000 payday.

Madden and Bryan Hendrix would bring the field to the green flag, only to see Hendrix slam the outside retaining wall in turn one to cause the first of seven caution periods that slowed the event.

A tangle between Steve Smith and Jason Trammell would slow the pace again after only one lap had been scored. Back underway, Madden would show the way, while Tommy Kerr and Billy Ogle, Jr. battling for second, with Vic Hill fourth. The front four would begin the process of working slower traffic and Madden would actually open a bit of a lead over Ogle, Jr., but a caution for an incident with Bo Shirley on the backchute slowed the pace.

This restart would see teammates Ogle and Kerr trade slidejobs for the runner-up spot with Madden able to scoot away, with Mike Weeks and Stacey Boles now battling for fifth behind fourth-place Hill. Two more cautions as a Josh Henry flat slowed the contest and after Jason Hiett rolled to a stop in turn four on lap 31, fourth place Hill would see mechanical issues end his evening as he rolled pitside during the caution period.

Ogle challenged Madden repeatedly on restart and would roll under Madden on several occasions, but Madden would continue to lead the way. Meanwhile, 15th starter Hunter Peacock would roll his way into the top five by the lap 37 for a slowed Steve Smith on the front chute.

This restart saw Ogle pressure Madden again for the race lead, but Madden drove off to a four car length advantage by the time the final caution flew on lap 43 when third place running Kerr limped his mount to a stop in turn two.

The final laps would go caution-free and Madden would see the checkered flag first as the 37 year old would pilot his No. 44 Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine to the victory.

This was Madden’s 40th career Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series victory, moving him to a tie for second on the all-time winners list with Dale McDowell.

Ogle finished second, with Boles coming home in third, while Peacock and Weeks completed the top five.

The finish:

Chris Madden, Billy Ogle Jr., Stacy Boles, Hunter Peacock, Mike Weeks, Riley Hickman, Mark Vineyard, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Josh Collins, Mark Rosner, Tommy Kerr, Steve Smith, Bret Holmes, Vic Hill, Jason Hiett, Josh Henry, Bo Shirley, Kayne Hickman, Michael Chilton, Bryan Hendrix, Jason Trammell.



Posted by on Apr 7 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!