Dirt Late Models

Miller & Erb Share Eldora Preliminaries

In the nightcap, Erb surged from the seventh starting spot to second in just four laps and then spent most of the distance chasing down Madden. The former DIRTcar UMP Summer Nationals and national weekly points champion finally caught Madden on lap 19 and nosed ahead to lead the next circuit, but Madden refused to go down quietly and regained command on lap 22.

Erb made his deciding move moments later, ducking underneath Madden through turns one and two and flashing ahead down the backstretch. The driver long known as the ‘One Man Band’ was back in the lead as lap 23 was scored and beat Madden to the checkered flag by 1.127 seconds.

“We just kept plugging away,” said Erb, whose best finish in three career Dream A-Main starts is fifth, in 2012. “I had been running the middle most of the race, but I was looking around a little and one lap I dropped down and it stuck pretty good. Then I gained up on (Madden) and just stayed there.

“We swapped spots there a couple times, but I was able to stay down there on the bottom and get ahead of him and hold on.”

Jonathan Davenport was the fastest qualifier in Friday night’s multi-car time trials with a lap of 15.386 seconds. His circuit ended up being the fastest of the two nights of time trials, besting the lap turned on Thursday by Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., by a mere .001 of a second.

The finishes:

Odd-Number Feature: Matt Miller, Jimmy Owens, Steve Casebolt Jr., Josh Richards, Brian Birkhofer, Scott James, Jeep VanWormer, Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Mars, Andrew Reaume, Steve Francis, Brian Shirley, Duane Chamberlain, Gregg Satterlee, Tim Rivers, Dusty Moore, Wayne Chinn, Jeff Provinzino, Tyler Reddick, Scott Bloomquist, Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Jared Landers

Even-Number Feature: Dennis Erb Jr., Chris Madden, Billy Moyer, Don O’Neal, Doug Drown, Jacob Hawkins, Dale McDowell, Randy Weaver, Brandon Sheppard, Donnie Moran, Shannon Babb, Bub McCool, Shane Clanton, Steve Shaver, Billy Moyer Jr., Greg Johnson, Jeremy Payne, Brandon Thirlby, Dustin Neat, Bobby Pierce, Justin Chance, Mason Zeigler, Tim Fuller, Darrell Lanigan



Posted by on Jun 8 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!