Other Dirt Series

Moyer Masters Chris Smith Memorial

PADUCAH, Ky. — Billy Moyer led the final 22 laps of the 40-lap Chris Smith Memorial on Friday night at Paducah Int’l Raceway for his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the year.

Moyer, of Batesville, Ark., started the A-main in third behind polesitter Tyler Reddick, who dominated the first half of the feature. Moyer caught Reddick and eventually passed him on lap 19. He then stretched his advantage over the remaining laps, and held off a late challenge from Ryan Unzicker, to end a winless streak that dated back to March and capture the $10,000 payday at Paducah Int’l Raceway.

“It’s been a long time coming,” said a relieved Moyer in victory lane. “We’ve had a horrible year, but we haven’t given up. We just keep working hard. My guys work their tails off. We keep trying things and sometimes you go backward before you go forward.”

Shannon Babb, Kent Robinson and Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Unzicker, Moyer, Reddick and Tim Brown.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Saturday night at the Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

The finish:

Billy Moyer, Ryan Unzicker, Shannon Babb, Kent Robinson, Bobby Pierce, Wendell Wallace, Tyler Reddick, Tim Brown, Jack Sullivan, Terry English, Don O’Neal, Tanner English, Randy Korte, Brandon Sheppard, Riley Hickman, Jason McBride, Dustin Griffin, Kevin Cole, Brian Shirley, Jason Riggs, Kevin Weaver, Dillon Wood.

Posted by on Jun 29 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!