Other Dirt Series

Moyer Motors To Winter Extreme Score

Billy Moyer Jr. en route to victory Sunday at Tucson (Ariz.) Int'l Raceway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

Billy Moyer Jr. en route to victory Sunday at Tucson (Ariz.) Int’l Raceway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

TUCSON, Ariz. — Billy Moyer Jr. pulled away during the second half of Sunday’s NDRL Winter Extreme dirt late model race at Tucson Int’l Raceway.

Moyer started from the pole and led the first four laps, but bobbled on the fifth tour of the three-eighths-mile oval allowing Terry Phillips to take the lead.

“I made a mistake there and I knew it,” said Moyer. “Coming out of turn two, I buzzed my tires and drifted up the track, and I knew if someone was on my tail they were gone.”

But Phillips stopped on lap 13 and Moyer inherited the lead. He led the remainder of the 40-lap race for his third Winter Extreme victory, but first since 2011. He earned $5,000.

Californian Tony Toste came home second with Jimmy Mars, Clay Daly and R.C. Whitwell rounding out the top five.

Five-time World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion Donny Schatz made the all-night flight after winning three consecutive sprint car races in Australia to race his No. 15 late model, but failed to make the feature.

The finish:

Billy Moyer Jr., Tony Toste, Jimmy Mars, Clay Daly, R.C. Whitwell, Will Vaught, Billy Moyer, A.J. Diemel, Justin Asplin, Jason Krohn Slayton, Ricky Weiss, Pat Doar, Brad Williams, Morgan Bagley, Tim Fuller, John Blankenship, Garrett Alberson, Joey Moriarty, Ryan Gustin, Tony Jackson Jr., Terry Phillips, Mason Zeigler, Kent Robinson, Justin Kay.



Posted by on Jan 13 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!