Other Dirt Series

Neal Claims Farley LM Shootout

FARLEY, Iowa — Showing the same speed that earned him the 2005 Deery Brothers Summer Series title, Terry Neal led flag to flag in winning Friday’s Brodix Silver Anniversary Shootout at Farley Speedway.

The 20-lap event paid $1,000 and featured a dozen drivers who have won national IMCA Late Model or Deery Series championships over the past 25 years.

Neal got into lapped traffic with two laps to go but was comfortably ahead of Mark Burgtorf at the checkered flag. Jay Johnson, Terry Schlipman and hard charger Ray Guss, Jr. followed.

Guss has already secured his second consecutive national crown, has the upper hand in his bid for a second straight series prize, and made his way from 12th starting to complete the top five.

Neal, Burgtorf, Johnson and Guss were also among the 18 drivers who qualified for Saturday’s $7,500 to win Deery Series main event during the Yankee Dirt Track Classic special at Farley.

The finish:

Terry Neal, Mark Burgtorf, Jay John¬son, Terry Schlipman, Ray Guss, Jr., Jeremy Grady, Darrel DeFrance, Jeff French, Boone McLaugh¬lin, Curt Martin, Mike Smith, Denny Osborn.



Posted by on Sep 17 2011 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!