Other Dirt Series

No. 107 For Phillips In MLRA Competition

Terry Phillips drove to victory in Friday's Lucas Oil MLRA feature at Lee County Speedway in Iowa. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

Terry Phillips drove to victory in Friday’s Lucas Oil MLRA feature at Lee County Speedway in Iowa. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

DONNELLSON, Iowa – In a heavyweight slugfest Friday night at Lee County Speedway, Terry Phillips threw the haymaker just shy of the checkers en route to his Lucas Oil MLRA series-leading 107th victory.

Phillips hung around the top five for the duration of the main event and gradually worked forward. Early in the race he went toe to toe with Chad Simpson. Then when a lapped car slowed race leader Ryan Gustin’s pace, Phillips jumped all over the young driver and slid in front of him exiting turn two. He had the momentum and kept Gustin at bay to roll on to victory in a fantastic feature event.

“They done a heck of a job here,” stated Phillips. “This is a race track here now. You can race all over it. Hats off to them. Thanks to all the fans for coming out. I haven’t seen this many fans in a long time. That’s quite a race there.”

Early in the evening the drivers all took two laps on the clock to align the heat races. The top three heat race finishers then redrew for feature starting positions. Friday’s winner, John Anderson, redrew the number one “Lucas Oil Super Coolant” bottle and set the pace. Andy Eckrich drew the outside pole for the 40 lap feature.

Anderson quickly assumed the lead and was holding his own, until Gustin came to life, inches from the wall.

Anderson held on a little longer, but Gustin passed him several laps later in turns one and two. Ultimately Gustin held off all but Phillips to run a strong second. Chad Simpson still searching for his first Lucas Oil MLRA win of the season, scored his ninth top five finish in the series first 12 races.

Gustin, who started seventh, finished second. Chad Simpson, Anderson and Tommy Weder Jr. completed the top five.

The finish:

Terry Phillips, Ryan Gustin, Chad Simpson, John Anderson, Tommy Weder Jr., Travis Dickes, Jason Utter, Matt Furman, Mark Burgtorf, Dave Eckrich, Chris Simpson, Jeremy Payne, Austin Siebert, Justin Reed, Brian Harris, Jason Bodenhamer, Jake Meier, Tommy Elston, Spencer Diercks, Scott Lewis, Jay Johnson, Bill Koons, Andy Eckrich, Bob Cullen, Rickey Frankel, Skip Frey.

Posted by on Jun 14 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!