Other Dirt Series

Payne Takes MLRA’s Freedom Classic

SALINA, Okla. – The Inaugural Freedom Classic for the Lucas Oil MLRA at Salina Highbanks Speedway ended with a bang as Jeremy Payne took home the giant, custom American Eagle trophy and the $5,000 paycheck.

Payne took the green flag from the inside of the second row and quickly jumped to second ahead of Ryan Gustin. Chad Simpson started on the pole but midway through the race cut a tire down. Payne restarted out front after the caution and held the lead for the reminder of the race. An attempted pass by Gustin on lap 36 ended with the No. 19R up on the left side of Payne, who was able to keep momentum and the lead during the incident.

“The track was really good there for the first half of the race and then it kind of started cleaning up. Down there in three and four, you know he (Gustin) just had a good run and he is a hard racer, when five thousand is on the line you are going to race like that,” said Payne.

Tony Jackson Jr. was second, followed by Travis Dickes, Jack Sullivan and Tommy Weder Jr.

The finish:

Jeremy Payne, Tony Jackson Jr., Travis Dickes, Jack Sullivan, Tommy Weder Jr., Brantlee Gotschall, Terry Phillips, Jason Hughes, Wendell Wallace, Chad Simpson, Brandon McCormick, Brandon Morton, Mark Dotson, Brett Hansen, Leroy Johnson, Scott Lewis, John Driskill, Dave Eckrich, Bill Koons, Jeff Roth, Ryan Gustin, Justin Asplin, Jason Redman, James Parker.

Posted by on Jul 6 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!