Other Dirt Series

Phillips Is Lightning At Thunder Hill

MAYETTA, Kan. – Terry Phillips was unbeatable during Saturday’s Lucas Oil MLRA late model feature at Thunder Hill Speedway, leading all 40 laps to secure the $3,000 victory.

Tony Jackson Jr. set quick time and redrew the pole for the event, but second starter Phillips took the lead when the green flag and never looked back.

“The car was good tonight,” said Phillips following the race. “I didn’t have much of a tire there at the end. I was trying to pass ’em (lapped cars) without using my tires up. This track’s pretty wide and eventually they got out of the way.”

Lap traffic made the show interesting. At one point Phillips had five lap cars squarely in front of him. Payne narrowed the gap during that portion of the event. He closed to Phillips’ rear bumper, but he got no closer.

Jason Krohn made the lengthy trip south from his home in Slayton, Minn., worth it. He had only one race on his brand new Club 29 Race Car prior to this weekend. He picked off a few cars and held off both Chad Simpson and Ryan Gustin to run third.

The finish:

Terry Phillips,  Jeremy Payne, Jason Krohn, Chad Simpson, Ryan Gustin, John Anderson, Tony Jackson Jr., Shannon Scott, Dave Eckrich, Scott Lewis, Kyle Beard, Travis Dickes, Scott Phillips, Austin Siebert, Bill Koons, Dustin Walker, Brantlee Gotschall.

Posted by on Jun 22 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!