Other Dirt Series

Phillips Repeats in Duel In The Desert

Terry Phillips won Saturday night's Duel in the Desert IMCA Modified race at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas. (David Allio photo)

LAS VEGAS — Terry Phillips of Springfield, Missouri claimed the $7,777 Duel in the Desert winner’s check Saturday night at the Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Phillips, who won the 2010 edition of the Duel in the Desert, started fifth, took the lead on lap 23 and survived a last-lap drag race with Dominic Ursetta at the checkered flag to score his second consecutive Duel in the Desert win.

Last year’s event drew a record 232 entries. That record was eclipsed this year as 240 drivers towed in from 25 states and three Canadian provinces for a shot at the $7,777 payday.

Dylan Smith brought the field down for the opening green flag. Ricky Alvarado started second and grabbed the lead from Smith on the first lap. Alvarado led the first 23 laps but a caution flag bunched up the field. On the restart, Alvarado, Smith and Phillips raced three-wide down the back straightaway with Phillips grabbing the lead in Turn 4.

Alvarado’s stellar run came to an end on lap 29 when his car was sidelined by right-front suspension damage. Matt Brack, who started eighth, was now in second place and in hot pursuit of Phillips. Dominic Ursetta found some racing room beneath Brack’s Modified and grabbed second place as Phillips tried to motor away from his pursuers.

Phillips hugged the bottom in Turns 1 and 2 and ran high in Turns 3 and 4 as Ursetta began to close the gap.

Ursetta caught Phillips with four laps remaining and drove to his low side but Phillips managed to hold him off.

Ursetta gave it one last try on lap 39 and the feature was reduced to a drag race down the front straightaway. Phillips held him off by less than a car length at the checkered flag and earned his second Las Vegas win. Smith finished third, Jeff Taylor was fourth and Darrin Duffy charged from his 23rd starting position to claim fifth.

“I hit the hole on the back straight a couple times so hard the car came up in the air. It knocked plug wires off or something and then it got to falling on its face — especially the last two or three laps,” said Phillips. “It was just dying down the straightaway and it would take off and I’d overshoot the corner, but hey, we got ’er done. The car worked good but we had something break on the motor but other than that, it was on the money. I was trying to keep my momentum with the motor laid down and it worked out for us just barely.”

Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, Iowa took the lead from Matt Mueller on lap 8 and went on to win the 15-lap IMCA Sport Mod feature. The win was Jesse’s 55th (in 92 starts) of the 2011 season.

Next year’s Duel in the Desert will be Nov. 7-10, 2012.

The finish:

Terry Phillips, Dominic Ursetta, Dylan Smith, Jeff Taylor, Darrin Duffy, Matt Brack, Will Brack, Justen Yeager, Randy Hall, Bobby Hogge, Steve Arpin, Tyson Turnbull, Ryan McDaniel, Kevin Stoa, Justin Radcliff, Alan Sharpensteen, Jason Pike, Jay Foster, Kyle Heckman, Ricky Alvarado, Tim Ward, Jay Noteboom, Justin O’Brien, John Hansen, Jordan Grabouski, Jacob Murray, Bob Moore, Kyle Lentz.


Posted by on Nov 13 2011 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Racing Nation, Top Stories, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!