Other Dirt Series

Southern Nationals Kick Off July 21

The grid for the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series feature prior to the start of the race in 2013 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. (Michael Moats Photo)

The grid for the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series feature prior to the start of the race in 2013 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. (Michael Moats Photo)

BRASSTOWN, N.C. — The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Old Man’s Garage is gearing up for the tour’s 10th anniversary season, which will showcase drivers from all over the Southeast vying for more than $200,000 in prize money marking 10 race nights in just 13 days.

Easier said than done for the drivers making all 10 races, right?

Ask any of the traveling drivers who make the nearly 1,400 mile trek in sweltering southern summer temperatures. They’ll look tiresome at the end of that long journey and their preparedness to do so makes the challenge seem worth it at the end of the thirteen days.

The Southern Nationals Series has become a main stay in the Southeast over the last nine seasons producing ties in the point championship to door-to-door close quarters racing that can only be found in dirt track racing’s birth place, the South.

This year’s group of drivers expected to contend for the series prize are top of their class in this region.

Ninety-nine drivers did battle during last season’s nine events. One event was rained out, the annual Rebel Yell at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga.

This year’s schedule features two new tracks and one returning venue. Mitch McCarter’s 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tenn. joins the slate for the first time. Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. also is a new track to the tour. Modoc (S.C.) Raceway returns to the schedule for the first time since the inaugural season. Royce Bray picked up the last series’ visit during the tour’s first-ever event.

The Southern Nationals Series will feature a points fund in excess of $15,000 with $5,053 going to the Series Champion, second place receives $2,553, third place receives $2,053, fourth place receives $1,553, fifth place receives $1,053, sixth place receives $753, seventh place receives $653 and eighth place in series points will receive $553 along with all other prefect attendance drivers. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga. is the defending series champion.

In addition to the Southern Nationals and Spring Nationals Series point funds, the series has announced a Combined Bonus for the top five drivers who finish the highest with both tours. The overall top driver from each series will receive $5,053, with second place receiving $2,553, third place receiving $2,053, fourth place receiving $1,553 and fifth place receiving $1,053.

A possible $15,000+ could be won by Billy Ogle Jr. this season if he wins the Spring and Southern Nationals with points fund monies from both tours and the Combined Bonus Money. Also, if a driver was to at least run fifth in both tours, he could receive $3,159 with point funds and the combined bonus.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series officially kicks off on Monday Night July 21 at Fred & Susan Brown’s Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va.

Posted by on Jul 8 2014 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!