Other Dirt Series

Victory Lands Aikey Deery LM Title

DAVENPORT, Iowa – Jeff Aikey will have to make room in his trophy case for two more Deery Brothers Summer Series awards.

Aikey wrapped up his seventh IMCA Late Model series championship with his tour career 58th feature win Saturday at Davenport Speedway.

The win was good for $2,000, the series title another $5,000. Andy Eckrich was runner-up in both the standings, nine points back, and in the 40-lap race.

Brian Harris, Ray Guss Jr. and Denny Eckrich completed Saturday’s top five.

Pole starter Justin Kay led the first two circuits. Aikey took over until lap 12, when Andy Eckrich drove to the front.

The first in a series of cautions negated an Aikey pass on lap 14, but he stayed close and caught Eckrich again on lap 34.

He checked out from that point, winning comfortably ahead of Eckrich.

Aikey was also series champion in 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999, 2006 and 2009.

Posted by on Sep 23 2012 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!