Other Dirt Series

Weaver Grabs Wilmot Summer Nationals Win

WILMOT, Wis. — After breaking a driveshaft while leading two nights earlier, Kevin Weaver bounced back in a big way on Sunday night by capturing his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” victory in five seasons at Wilmot Raceway.

Weaver, of Gibson City, Ill., started outside of the first row in his Jimmy John’s-sponsored car and was definitely “freaky fast” on the high side the majority of the night en route to capturing the $5,000 checkered flag. Weaver held off pole sitter Brandon Sheppard, giving Sheppard his second consecutive runner-up finish.

“It was just an awesome car and an awesome race for me tonight,” said Weaver, the 2000 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion.

Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb and Ryan Unzicker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brian Birkhofer, Brandon Sheppard and Kevin Weaver.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Wednesday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

The finish:

Kevin Weaver, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb, Ryan Unzicker, Jason McBride, Bobby Pierce, Tyler Reddick, Randy Korte, Dustin Griffin, Jason Jaggers, Russ Scheffler, Dan Shlieper, Brad Mueller, Tim Lance, Chris Simpson, Rich Bell, Todd Frank, Pete Parker, Scott Schmitt.

Posted by on Jun 17 2013 Filed under Dirt Late Models, Latest Headlines, Other Dirt Series. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!